My Culinary Mistake

Well, I’m finally off of work for a few days. I can’t write much when I’m working since I work three 12 hour shifts in a row. I pretty much just work and sleep for 3 days straight.

When I woke up this afternoon I got some Parisienne Chicken going in the crockpot for my dinner tonight. I already had all of the ingredients at home except the mushrooms, so it was an easy fix.

I went to the Y this evening and did 15 minutes on the elliptical before my spinning class. Spin class was really good tonight. I’ve been feeling like it was a waste of time lately because I think my body is too used to it. My heart rate doesn’t usually get high enough for me to burn enough calories in spinning anymore. But tonight was different … my heart rate stayed higher than normal and I felt like I got a really good workout.

When I got home the chicken was smelling really good. But when I looked at it I realized something was wrong.

Photobucket

The sauce was all grainy and gross. At first I thought that it was just a bad recipe, but I just re-read it and realized I messed up. I was suppose to mix sour cream into the white wine and cream of mushroom soup mixture, and instead I just put it into the crockpot. Oops!

I tried to make the best of it by serving it with some yummy sauteed green beans and rice. And it wasn’t actually that bad, but it definitely isn’t a keeper. I don’t think it would have been that great if I had done it correctly either, so I probably won’t bother making this one again.

Photobucket

Oh well, lesson learned. What culinary mistakes have you made?

2 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes, Spinning

2 responses to “My Culinary Mistake

  1. Natasha

    Oh man, I have so many. Tonight I put in 3 tablespoons of butter instead of 3 teaspoons (which made it taste yummy, but holy calories!) I have filled the house with smoke because I left my canola oil unattended. I have forgotten to put eggs in the cinnamon buns I was making…

    The list goes on and on! 🙂

  2. Amanda McQueen

    Thats funny about the butter Natasha. I bet it did taste good 🙂

Leave a Reply

