Turkey Burner 5K Race Recap

Happy Birthday to me! 🙂

This morning I got up super early to get ready for the Turkey Burner 5K. I like to wake up atleast 2 hours or more before a race so that I have plenty of time to wake up, get my gear together and drive to the race site. My day was suppose to start at 5:40 am, but Tim woke me up at 5:25 because he had a freak out moment where he dreamed his alarm didn’t go off.

About 7:00 we headed to the race site. My friend Bailey met us there.

Forgive the terrible picture quality. I brought my camera, but forgot to put an SD card in it. Doh! So we had to take pictures with Tim’s cellphone.

The race got started a few minutes after 8:00. There were so many people at the starting line I couldn’t really even tell which direction we were suppose to run. I wasn’t sure if I was in the front or the back. To make matter more interesting, somehow we had a false start. I really don’t know what happened, but everyone starting jogging and I started my iPod and Garmin and then everyone stopped. So I reset everything and then we started for reals.

The course was really nice. It was mostly flat with a few small hills in a residential area. Some of the houses we ran by were enormous!

The first mile went by really quickly and everyone was still pretty crowded together. Bailey and I hung together. We were running at about a 7:30 pace. The guy directly infront of me had a prosthetic leg. I have to give him some serious props. He was kicking tail! After the first mile a few people started dropping off and the crowd thinned out quite a bit.

The second mile was pretty easy peasy just like the first. I got lost in thought and in my songs and really wasn’t paying attention to the running. Every now and then I looked down to check my pace and I was steadily staying around 7:30-7:45.

At about the 2.5 mile mark I really started to get tired and ready to be done. I was glad to see that we only had a little over a half a mile to go. I knew I could finish it out. I definitely couldn’t have kept up that pace for much longer.

My splits were:

Mile 1 – 7:26
Mile 2 – 7:32
Mile 3 – 7:39
Last .1 – 1:07

I actually remember to stop my Garmin this time, and to look at the time clock as I passed. I’m pretty sure my official time is going to be 23:45, a new PR. I also beat the goal I set for myself of 24:30, and the secret goal that I didn’t tell anyone about because I thought it was impossible of 24:00. Yays!

I thought it was really odd that my bib number was 1. I thought maybe it was a sign, but I ended up finishing 2nd in my age group. The same girl that won our age group in the Spinner’s Pumpkin Run beat me again! I jokingly told Tim I was going to have to put a hit out on her so that I can win something.

The prize for the age divisions was a nifty pair of gloves with Turkey Burner 2009 on it.

I’m headed to the grandparent’s house to have our family Thanksgiving/Birthday dinner now. Mmmm … turkey, dressing, green bean casserole. I better not eat too much though because Tim is taking me out to a really nice dinner for my birthday. I might even wear my new little black dress, if I can find an appropriate coat to go over it. Its cold outside today!

1 Comment

Filed under 5K, Awards, Friends, Garmin, Races, Running

One response to “Turkey Burner 5K Race Recap

  1. OMG!!!! A 7 something minute mile, that is so awesome!! CONGRATS!

Leave a Reply

