9 Down!

I forgot to mention yesterday that I signed up for the 12K’s of Christmas run on December 12th. I’m very excited and nervous. Tim will be out of town that weekend and won’t be able to go run with me, also it will be the longest distance that I have raced to date. I’ve been putting off signing up to make sure I was physically going to be able to do it, but I finally bit the bullet. I know I’m ready! My mind just tries to play tricks on me.

This morning I got up and ate a piece of whole wheat toast with grape jelly before my run.

I got dressed, gathered my gear and my water and headed out to Fort Toulouse park for my 9 mile run. The first 5 miles were a breeze! Miles 5-7 weren’t bad, but I could tell my body was starting to get a little tired. My neck and shoulders started cramping up for some reason, but I shook it off and continued on. By the time I hit mile 7.5 I was seriously ready to be done! But I knew I still had enough in me to finish it out.

All in all, I did 9 miles in 1 hour 19 minutes! A new personal distance record for me. 🙂

My splits were:

Mile 1 – 8:50
Mile 2 – 8:37
Mile 3 – 8:48
Mile 4 – 8:55
Mile 5 – 9:06
Mile 6 – 8:57
Mile 7 – 8:54
Mile 8 – 8:54
Mile 9 – 8:42

I listened to an audibook called What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Murakami Haruki while I ran. Some parts of the book are very interesting, but I found my mind wandering quite a bit. Either way, it was a good way to pass the time.

Now I’m off to shower and eat some more Tex-Mex Turkey Soup … I’m STARVING!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Garmin, Half Marathon Training, pictures, Races, Running

One response to “9 Down!

  1. Congrats on your PDR! You’re fast.

    Okay, I will quit leaving so many comments now! I just found your blog and got excited, that’s all 🙂

Leave a Reply

