Breakin’ The Budget

In October I did a review of my bank statements and found out that I had spent $1000 on groceries during the month of September. How ridiculous!?! That day I started a budget for my family and commited myself to sending all of the remaining money to pay off our debts as quickly as possible. My ultimate goal is that maybe one day I can be a stay at home mom or atleast only have to work part time.

I have been doing really well with the budget, almost too well. What I mean by that is that now I get super stressed when I have to spend any amount of money that I didn’t anticipate. I’ve been doing everything in my power to save a dollar here and a dollar there. I’ve been taking the longer way to work instead of going over the toll bridge, I’ve not been eating out except on special occasions, I’ve been shopping with coupons, etc.

About a week ago Tim and I discovered that we have a water spot in our livingroom from where our roof has leaked into our attic and has caused damage to our ceiling. We haven’t gotten it all figured out yet, but I’m pretty sure we are about to have to pay out our $1000 deductible on our home owners insurance to have it fixed. To make matters even worse I tried to wash a load of clothes last night before bed and the washer started making a god-awful sound and completely stopped working. Our dryer has already been pretty pesky and I’ve had to send everything through twice to get it dry. So I had to go out this morning and buy 2 new units. Thankfully I was able to get it with no interest for 12 months, but it just frustrates me to work so hard towards a goal just to have things outside of my control interfere.

I’ve been working this afternoon on trying to list some things on eBay that I don’t use or need anymore and we called and got Tim’s truck refinanced for half the interest rate that we were originally paying. So those are good steps in the right direction.

Today’s eats have been pretty boring so far. For breakfast I made omelets with spinach, mushroom and onion and had an apple on the side.

For lunch I had the last of the Tex-Mex Turkey Soup (Thank God!) and a side of broccoli and cheese sauce. Random, I know.

Tim and I were going to have a “date night” tonight and go out to eat and to a movie, but in light of the large sums of money we have spent today we decided to spend the night at home. I’m gonna try a new recipe tonight that utilizing the super cheap chicken breasts that I bought a few days ago. I’ll let you know how it turns out. Tonight is also Biggest Loser night, and that always puts me in a better mood.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Shopping

2 responses to “Breakin’ The Budget

  1. Good luck! It sounds like you’re doing the right thing. Sometimes staying in and just being together is more fun than going out anyway. And cooking together is really fun! Put on some favorite tunes, open some wine, and go for it!

    I’d rather spend $1,000 on my home than on food for a month. It’s all about priorities, yano?

    Great post. Thanks!

  2. Wow! I just noticed that you have lost 100 pounds. You ROCK!!!!! I need to start running. You’re inspiring!

Leave a Reply

