A Change of Plans

I was having a bit of a food hangover this morning when I woke up, so I had a simple and refreshing breakfast of Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt and Kashi Honey Almond Flax cereal.

Before breakfast though, I started the day by making Spinach and Ricotta Stuffed Shells. I thought I was going back to work tonight, and I like to have food prepared for Tim and Lincoln to eat when I’m at work whenever possible. I wish I could say the only reason I do that is out of the kindness of my heart because I’m just that good of a wife and mother, but there is also a more selfish reason. I know that I’m more likely to come home to a clean house in the morning if Tim doesn’t cook. He can use every dish in the cabinet making PB&J. I kid you not! (Love you baby!)

I stuffed the shells with a mixture of Ricotta cheese, spinach, carmalized red onion, green onion and italian spices. Everytime I prepare this kind of dish in the morning it weirds me out for some reason. It just seems wrong to make pasta at 8:00 am. Of course that’s coming from the girl who regularly eats burritos for breakfast after working all night.

I switched my running schedule around a little bit these week to utilize my time a little better. I know that Wednesday and Thursday are going to be long days for me and I won’t have time to do my scheduled 5 and 6 mile runs, so I moved some of my shorter runs to those days. I did my 6 mile run today. I chose to do it on the treamill because I wasn’t interested in running in the rain. I’m not that hardcore yet!

I did 6 miles in 50:51 for a average pace of 8:32. Not bad for a treadmill run!

After my run, I was pressed for time to get my nap in to prepare for work tonight. I like to sleep atleast 2 hours before I have to start getting ready for work on my first night back. So I quickly showered and made Chicken Broccoli Stir Fry for lunch with a side of Thai Sesame Noodles.

I don’t usually like to watch TV while I eat. Actually I rarely watch TV at all, but I just wanted to veg out for a few minutes while Tim and I ate our lunch together. We watched a few minutes of a Law & Order SVU episode that we had recorded. I literally had to get up and grab my camera while I was eating so I could show you this ridiculous name.

Seriously? …

After my nap about 5:00 this evening I got put on call for work. That basically means I don’t have to go in unless they call me and tell me they need me, but they can call me anytime until 7:00 am tomorrow morning and I have to be there in 30 minutes when they call. I was super excited to be able to stay home with my family and watch the season finale of The Biggest Loser, but it probably wasn’t the best decision for my budget.

For dinner I sliced some yummy mozzarella cheese on top of the Ricotta shells and baked them in the oven for 30 minutes and served it with Honey Glazed Carrots and Green Beans.

I noticed a puddle of water by the refrigerator while I was making dinner. I wiped it up and a couple hours later it was back. Tim opened our freezer to discover that everything inside was defrosted. We put a thermometer inside and its reading 50 degrees. Not good! Fortunately we were able to save most of the food and put it in our deep freezer in the garage, and so far our refrigerator seems to still be ok. This is just not what I need right now!

Do you ever feel like just when you are starting to get serious about something that everything out of your control goes wrong? Thats how I feel right now about our budget. I have seriously commited to paying off our debt and saving money and now in the last month we’ve had the washer go out, our roof leak (which still isn’t fixed) and now this. Its all very frustrating.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, pictures, Running, Thoughts, Work

One response to “A Change of Plans

  1. That name totally didn’t fit in the standardized test forms! Yikes

Leave a Reply

