Double Digit Run!

Yesterday was an interesting day! I was scheduled to run 10 miles, but I wasn’t planning on doing it because I did too much of this the night before at our Labor & Delivery Christmas party…

I also had Lincoln by myself yesterday, so I knew the only way I was going to get to run is if I did it on the treadmill while he was napping. When naptime rolled around I was so sleepy too that I highly considered just taking a nap myself. But for some reason I kept thinking … come on, this is your chance! Wouldn’t it feel great to run?!

I calculated that it was going to take me a little over an hour and a half to run 10 miles and I wasn’t sure if Lincoln would sleep that long. I decided that I would just run until he woke up and that would be the best I could do. I wanted to take it nice and slow after the 12K I had the day before and the late night at the Christmas party, so I set the treadmill on 6.5 mph and kept it there.

Around mile 5 the phone rang and Lincoln started crying. I jumped off the treadmill, used the potty and he stopped crying … so I jumped back on. I ran to 9 miles and I had to stop because my sock was rubbing my foot in a weird way and it was really hurting! So I adjusted my sock and got back on again. I ran the last mile at 7 mph just so I could hurry up and finish. Woohoo! I did it! I know I’ve run 9 miles before, but 10 just sounds so much farther. I never would have dreamed that I would be able to run 10 miles, or 3 miles for that matter.

After the run I made one of my E-Mealz recipes, Hamburger Steak with Carmalized onions, Balsamic Green Beans and Corn. I was starving! I actually ended up eating 2 of the hamburger patties, then later I topped it off with an apple and peanut butter.

I was so exhausted after my run and after dinner that I ended up falling asleep in the recliner in Lincoln’s room at about 9:00. When I woke up at 10:00 Lincoln was still sitting in my lap and he was out cold as well. I guess we both needed our rest!

I didn’t do a post about my Weekly Review of my December Goals this week, but its safe to assume that I failed in every last one of them. I had a really hard week at home and at work and I’m not suprised that I didn’t do very good. But I’m back on the wagon now and I mean business! The next two weeks after this one are going to be hard for me because we have our anniversary coming up and then Christmas and New Years of course, so I really need to make the most of this week.

2 Comments

Filed under E-Mealz, pictures, Recipes, Running, weight-loss goals

2 responses to “Double Digit Run!

  1. Pingback: Nightshift Christmas Party « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

