Our 8th Anniversary!

Tim and I finally decided to go to La Jolla for our anniversary dinner last night. We kept debating back and forth between there and Number Sixteen, but ultimately decided that since we went to Number Sixteen for my birthday just a month ago we’d go to La Jolla. Both places are owned by the same people and they are really similar anyway.

We had reservations for 7:00. We started off with a Whisky Sour for me and a Manhattan for him. While we waited for our appetizers I gave him his anniversary gift.

A new wedding ring! He lost his several months ago. He lost so much weight that it slipped off his finger without him noticing and we cannot find it anywhere! I didn’t know what size to buy him so I just guessed and made sure to keep the receipt in case we needed to return it. I still think its a little big, but he says its perfect.

We ordered an appetizer of Grilled Shrimp on top of Fried Green Tomatoes with Roumelade. We ate it so fast that I didn’t even get a chance to take a picture!

My favorite thing at La Jolla is their Arugula salad with candied pecans and fried goat cheese. It is amazing! I ordered mine with extra goat cheese.

We both had another round of drinks while we waited on our dinner. I ordered the Filet Mignon (med. rare) topped with crab cake and a side of asparagus and garlic roasted fingerling potatoes.

Honestly I thought they cooked the steak more rare than medium rare, but I’ll never complain about an undercooked steak. An overcooked steak is much worse in my opinion.

Tim ordered the New York Strip with sweet potato fries and foccacia bread. Once again I didn’t get a picture because he TORE IT UP! We had a couple glasses of Pinot Noir with our meals.

After dinner we were both fairly tipsy, but him more so than me. I went to the restroom and asked him to order me a Blueberry Bread Pudding with Whisky Anglaise and a Frangelico while I was gone. When I got back I found out that he had ordered me a Caramel Apple Tart instead because he thought for some reason thats what I told him. Jerk! 😛

Atleast he got the Frangelico part right.

Our waiter saw the wrapping paper on the table from Tim’s ring and asked what the occasion was. When we told him that it was our anniversary he brought us each a glass of champagne. 🙂

When we got our bill we died laughing at how they rang up my extra goat cheese as “goat ball”. That plus the fact that we both drank way too much pretty much sent us into hysterics. I’m sure the people around were less than pleased.

When we got ready to leave the lady at the next table randomly asked us if we’d like her to take a picture of us infront of the Christmas Tree. Maybe we weren’t so bothersome afterall.


It was a great night!

2 Comments

Filed under family, Food, pictures, Restaurants, Special Occasions

2 responses to “Our 8th Anniversary!

  1. Happy Anniversary! The new ring is beautiful 🙂

  2. balanceinbites

    Sounds like you guys had a great night!!

    ps – I added you to my blog roll. I don’t know how I didn’t have you on there already! >.<

Leave a Reply

