A Crazy Christmas Eve

Christmas Eve started off with a bang! I worked an extra shift last night to make up a little bit of money to cover our $200 dinner the other night for our anniversary. We weren’t very busy at work though so I ended up leaving at 1:30 am. I came home and went to bed so I could have a productive Christmas Eve. There was so much to do!

My To-Do list for today included:

  1. Wrap gifts.
  2. Bake Brownies.
  3. Put together Lincoln’s Power Wheels and play Kitchen.
  4. Run 7 miles.
  5. Shop for a few last minute gifts.
  6. Pack for our trip to my parent’s tomorrow.
  7. Eat Christmas Eve dinner with my Mother-In-Law.
  8. Cook the turkey for Christmas dinner tomorrow.

Before the day even started I was awakened by SEVERE chest pain. I’ve had this kind of pain before a few times and I just assume its bad heartburn. It usually lasts about 15 minutes or so and eases off. This morning though, I took Tums, drank milk, sat up in bed … nothing seemed to help and it kept getting worse and worse. It eventually got so bad that I honestly felt like I was going to lose consciousness from the pain. I felt like I was going to throw up because I was hurting so bad. I hovered over the toilet grabbing my chest and saying every dirty word I know over and over again. I felt like I was freezing cold but I was pouring sweat. Finally I decided I needed to go to the hospital.

I woke Tim up and he called his mom to come over and stay with Lincoln. I got dressed and called the hospital that I work at to find out how busy the ER was. I walked outside to get some fresh air and to wait on my mother-in-law. I told Tim that I might have to drive myself because I couldn’t wait any longer, I was dying! All of a sudden the pain started to ease … and then it just stopped. Of course my mother in law drove up right then. This all took place at 6:30 in the morning mind you. I felt so embarassed to tell her I was fine now and that she came over for nothing.

I still don’t know exactly what caused the pain, I feel like it probably was heartburn. I know that it could be something more serious though so I plan on going to my primary doctor after Christmas is over and getting it checked out. I just didn’t want to spend Christmas Eve in the ER if I didn’t absolutely have to.

I went back to bed and slept until after 10:00. When I finally woke up, I got to work on my To-Do list. I started by making brownies for my family for Christmas. I made Ultimate Chocolate brownies with Cream Cheese filling and Fudge Brownies with Chocolate Chip cookies baked on top. I ended up burning the cream cheese brownies a little but they still taste great and once I cut them up you really couldn’t tell.

After baking brownies I was getting pretty hungry so I made a simple lunch. A ham and cheese sandwhich and Chicken Tuscany soup.

While I was making lunch the UPS man came to deliver my new knee straps I purchased from Amazon. I’ve been looking for something a little less bulky to wear on my knees to help with the aching I have after running. I also needed something for both knees because my left knee has started bothering me lately as well. They look pretty silly, but they had excellent reviews on Amazon and they were super cheap ($8 each) so I decided to give them a chance.

Pretty silly looking, huh? I decided to try them out for my 7 mile run today. I thought I was going to have to run on the treadmill because it was so rainy and windy but the rain stopped long enough for me to decide to take my run outside. I headed to my favorite running spot at Fort Toulouse and got going and then of course the rain began again. It really wasn’t that bad though. I finished 7 miles in 59:05. I believe that is my fastest time to date on a 7 miler.

The run went like this:

Mile 1 – 8:23
Mile 2 – 8:26
Mile 3 – 8:23
Mile 4 – 8:35
Mile 5 – 8:44
Mile 6 – 8:15
Mile 7 – 8:15

I really like the knee straps. So far no pain!

Unfortunately Tim has been in pain. His feet have been really bothering him lately so he has decided not to run until the pain goes away. He’s also decided that he is not going to be ready for the Half Marathon that we planned to run together in January. I haven’t decided yet what I’m going to go. I’d still like to run but I really wanted to do our first Half together. I’m going to put some thought into it.

For dinner tonight we headed over to my mother-in-law’s house. She made us Roast Beef Po’Boys. This probably isn’t the most traditional Christmas Eve Dinner, but its exactly what I wanted!

I ate the whole thing! And then for dessert we had Stollen, which I had never heard of before.


Now its midnight and the turkey is still in the oven, Tim is working on putting the toys together and I’ve finally gotten all the wrapping done. The packing is going to have to wait until morning. I’m just too exhausted tonight. But there is always time for hot chocolate and Buttershots to add the finishing touch to a crazy Christmas Eve.

Good night and Merry Christmas!

2 Comments

Filed under family, Food, Holidays, Running, To Do

2 responses to “A Crazy Christmas Eve

  1. What a speedy 7-miler! Woo hoo!

    And what a scare. I hope your doctor has some insight when you see them.

  2. Merry (belated) Christmas!!

    I, too, have been having really achy knees. It only happens after I run. I get this ache deep inside my knees, all over….it’s kind of hard to explain. But boy, it really is painful! Maybe I should try those knee straps…

Leave a Reply

