Back in Action

I managed to make it through the holidays with minimal damage on the scale. I am about 4 pounds above my goal weight at this point, which I consider a complete success considering all the yummy things I’ve eaten in the past few weeks. Thank goodness for running! But now its time to buckle down and recommit myself to healthy eating.

Breakfast this morning was a blast from the past!

A peanut butter and banana sandwhich on Arnold’s Mulitgrain Sandwhich Thins, a clementine and 3/4 cup of skim milk. I haven’t had a PB & banana sandwhich in probably atleast 20 years! It hit the spot!

For lunch I made Chicken Stir-fry with Long Grain Wild Rice and Dill Carrots.

It was really delicous and filling and a great way to get in my veggies for the day.

I couldn’t decide if I should exercise today or not. Because I switched my long run for this week from Sunday to Saturday, I attempted to run Saturday’s 6 miler yesterday. My body was tight and sore from the 12 miles on Saturday. It just felt wrong! I stopped at 3 miles and called it a day. I debated on whether my body needed another day of rest today or if I was good to go. I ultimately decided I’d do a Spin class tonight and give my body another day off running. I did 20 minutes on the elliptical and then a 45 minute Spin class. That might sound like alot for a “rest day”, but honestly I don’t find either the elliptical or spinning to be very challenging so it was perfect for today.

After class I headed home to make dinner for the fam. We had my version of a Cuban Sandwhich. If you aren’t familiar with Cuban sandwhiches you should give it a try!

Traditionally, Cuban Sandwhiches are pork loin, deli ham, mustard, swiss cheese, and bread and butter pickles served on Cuban bread. To be more calorie friendly I make mine on a Arnold’s Sandwhich Thin. They are truly delicious! Although I forgot to add the deli ham to our tonight. Oops. To go alongside we had Chicken & Dumpling Soup.

I’ve never been a huge soup-eater, but lately I’ve been really getting in to it alot more. Especially since I bought 23 cans of Progresso for pennies each. Coupons rock!

After dinner Tim and I watched Run for Life, a documentary about Fred Lebow, the founder of the NYC Marathon. It was fairly interesting. I love watching things about running, but this wasn’t my absolute favorite. I much prefered Spirit of the Marathon. If you are interested in watching either of these you can get them from Netflix. We were able to add them to our Instant Queue <— what a weird looking word.

Anyway, here is a preview of Spirit of the Marathon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Movies, pictures, Running

Leave a Reply

