UltraMarathon Man and What’s Next?

I watched UltraMarathon Man a few days ago and I found it incredibly motivational and inspiring. It is about a man who ran 50 Marathons in 50 States in 50 consecutive days. Watching this movie was one of the things that helped push me to make the decision to run in the Half Marathon next week. You should definitely check it out!

Speaking of the Half Marathon … I’ve been thinking recently about what I’m going to do after its over. Since summer I have been working on various running training programs, first the Couch to 5K, then 10K and now the Half Marathon training program. I’m not sure that I’m ready to start a Marathon training program though, or that I even want to run a marathon at this point. What I want to do is be able to do is keep up my endurance to the point that I can run a Half Marathon whenever I want. I wish there was some kind of maintenance running schedule out there that I could do.

I’ve thought about just running the last two weeks of the Half Marathon training program over and over again every week or maybe the last 4 weeks. I’m just not sure what is best at this point. I definitely want to spend more time on the elliptical, weight training and spinning than I have been recently, but I don’t want my running ability to suffer.

Any advice?

4 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon Training, Movies, Thoughts

4 responses to “UltraMarathon Man and What’s Next?

  1. I just wanted to say that your before and after pics are incredible! Well done on such an amazing transformation.

  2. There’s a tool here – http://www.runnersworld.com/cda/smartcoach/1,7148,s6-238-277-278-0-0-0-0-0,00.html

    It allows you to choose a maintenance plan based on your current (or desired) weekly mileage and pace. Hope it helps!

  3. Sarah

    Wow, your story is so inspiring! Congratulations on signing up for the half! I look forward to reading about your experience.

Leave a Reply

