Winter Sminter.

At 260 pounds, I used to LOVE winter! I would get so ridiculously hot during any other season that winter was like a breath of fresh air to me every year. It has always been my most favorite season … until now. At almost 120 pounds lighter it is a completely different story. Anything below 70 degrees feels cool to me, and anything under 60 is COLD!

Today I decided I just couldn’t stand the treadmill for another long run, and come hell or high water I was going to do my long run outside. It was 34 degrees outside with a windchill of 28 degrees! Nevertheless, I bundled up in 2 pairs of pants, 2 shirts, a hat and a jacket and headed out to tackle my 8-miler.

I talked Tim into coming with me, but he wasn’t very happy about it.

Today’s run was not good. I was able to complete it, but I felt heavy from all of the clothes I was wearing, my throat hurt and I was cold and hot at the same time. The only thing that got me through was imagining that I was running the Half Marathon right at that very moment. I kept envisioning myself crossing that finish line!

But this is how I really felt:

My splits were:

Mile 1 – 8:42 (Felt heavy and weird in my jacket)
Mile 2 – 8:47 (Shed the jacket)
Mile 3 – 8:56
Mile 4 – 9:05
Mile 5 – 9:17 (Took a Gu)
Mile 6 – 9:13 (Realized I was running way slow and tried to speed up)
Mile 7 – 8:53
Mile 8 – 8:50

I’m definitely glad I completed my weekly long run, but sometimes its better to listen to your body than your mind. When you are on the verge of being sick, the week before the biggest race of your life, and its freezing outside is probably not the best time to run 8 miles outdoors. Lesson learned.

Today’s eats included:

1 Chocolate Chip & Spinach pancake and 1 Brown Sugar, Cinnamon & Spinach pancake for breakfast.

An Amazing Grass Green Superfood to try to boost my immune system.

Half a Mediterranean Wrap from Jason’s Deli.

With a bowl of Southwest Veggie Soup:

2 Mini muffins (lemon and blueberry) and an apple after my run.

And finally a bowl of Homemade Lentil Soup with Artisan Bread for dinner. (Recipe to come)

3 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Running

3 responses to “Winter Sminter.

  1. This is awesome! I’m so stoked about this blog. What a good way to keep in check. You’re actually really helping me on daily mile! I don’t have a lot of running/triathlon buddies here, so this is fun!
    Keep it up!!!
    -Wendy

  2. Amanda – I just got some great cold weather running gear. I ran in 28 degree weather and was warm. I got this jacket from TJ Max for 29 bucks, it retails for 140 – http://www.freecountry.com/cgi-bin/freec/locate?fcyear=2008&act=1&cat=women&item=13-L9196,

    this jacket paired with a long sleeve wick-a-way running shirt, and sweatshirt was great, I did not feel bulky because the jacket and long sleeve shirt are so light. You have layer and start with that polypropylene material, if you layer with t-shirts you will feel wet because the cotton holds onto the moisture.
    gloves/hat – just wore normal fleece
    Also, I was told to dress as if it was 20 degrees warmer outside, because you get so hot running, you won’t overheat, you probably had too many layers on. I bet one pair of pants would be fine, it worked for me!!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

