Lentil Soup Recipe

Last night for dinner I made Lentil Soup. I was inspired by browsing the dry beans at Walmart. Have you ever noticed how cheap dried beans are?

I used a combination of 2 recipes to make my own creation, this one and one from a friend of mine who’s family is Italian.

First, start by chopping 3-4 carrots, a large onion and 2-3 stalks of celery.

Then saute the veggies in a stockpot with 2-3 Tbsp Olive Oil.

Stir in minced garlic, basil, oregano and a Bay leaf. I never measure my herbs, I just eyeball them.

Stir in 1 pound dried lentils, 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 1 can diced tomatoes and 8 cups liquid (water, stock, broth, etc). I used 7 cups broth, 1/2 a cup of Sherry and the liquid from the tomatoes.

Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 45 minutes – 1 hour. When time is up add 1/2 a pound of Ditalini pasta.

Also add chopped spinach, as much as desired. I used frozen chopped spinach, and I used ALOT but I love spinach! Return to a boil then reduce heat again and simmer for another 20-30 minutes.

Add 1/4 cup lemon juice and 1/4 cup Balsamic Vinegar (the recipe calls for white vinegar but I didn’t have any, and this is better anyway).

Enjoy!

It costs less than $10 to make this entire recipe and it serves atleast 8-10 people. Try freezing the leftovers!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Frugality, pictures, Recipes

One response to “Lentil Soup Recipe

  1. Looks absolutely delicious! I can’t wait till it’s winter here and I will give it a whirl!

Leave a Reply

