What’s The Deal With The Vegetables?

Some of you may have noticed that recently I’ve been eating alot of vegetarian meals. I’ve briefly mentioned in a couple previous posts about the possibility of me becoming vegetarian.

Recently Tim and I watched Food Inc. (while we were eating lunch, nonetheless) and its really been weighing heavy on my heart. My reason for wanting to become a vegetarian truly doesn’t have anything to do with eating animals. I don’t have any moral hang-ups over eating meat. Sure I love animals just as much as the next girl, but I do understand meat as a food source. What I have issues with is the way in which these animals are treated/raised. The conditions described in this movie are horrifying! I truly don’t want to be a part of a multi-billion dollar industry that allows animals to be raised in the dark, standing in their own feces, and fed a unnatural diet just because its cheaper.

But its not just about animals, the way crops are grown is just as big of a problem.

I’ve put some serious thought in the last few day about what I can do to change the way I eat to make a difference. I’ve come to the conclusion that I can’t become a vegetarian overnight. I’m not one to just jump into something without doing my research and I don’t feel like I’ve had enough time to properly research the nutrition requirements behind a vegetarian diet. Also with having a small son I need to consider his nutrition as well. Do I provide him meat to eat? Or not? These are the things that I need to really spend some time considering and researching before I can make drastic changes in my eating habits.

Some of the things I can change right now are:

1. Eating more locally grown and organic produce – There are many reasons to buy local produce including: less travel time, supporting local farms and families as well as other nutritional and environmental reasons.

2. Buy Non-GMO.

3. Buy cruelty-free meat/dairy whenever possible.

4. Buy in-season produce.

I have a house/freezer full of food that doesn’t fit these descriptions and I’m not going to throw out all that food and start over, but I am going to make a serious effort from this point forward to purchase food products that are more responsible choices.

And while I have decided not to run out and become a vegetarian this very moment I will be making some positive steps in that direction. I want to try out new vegetarian recipes as much as possible and significantly reduce my meat consumption, as well as spend some time researching nutrition requirements of a vegetarian so that one day I might be able to revisit the idea of vegetarianism with a better understanding of how to do it properly.

I would love to hear any thoughts, ideas, recipes or information you have on this!

7 Comments

Filed under Movies, responsible eating, vegetarian

7 responses to “What’s The Deal With The Vegetables?

  1. Car

    I definitely made the switch because of reasons you stated its just gross how they treat these animals and how were supposed to eat that..no thanks.

  2. I made the switch to a vegetarian diet nearly 3 months ago, and I haven’t looked back. I don’t have children to consider so I just made the switch one day. My husband still eats meat occassionally, but he is mostly vego now too.
    Recipes are in abundance on the Net. I have learnt to use lots of herbs and spices to enhance the flavours. I have my favourite recipes on my recipe blog – http://kyliescuriositiesrecipes.blogspot.com/ – feel free to check them out. I am taking a couple of supplements while I get everything figured out, but I have found that I do not miss meat at all.
    Good luck with your research and enjoy trying out new recipes and flavours. It is a lot of fun!

  3. That movie is really convicting, Dan and I are working towards similar goals. It’ll be more expensive, but worth it in the end.

  4. Amanda, I applaud your choice!!!! I had the same reaction after seeing that movie, as well as reading a few books that touch on the same subject. Slowly but surely I’m working towards an organic, low animal product and locally sourced diet. Sure, there are times when I don’t follow this model (unfortunately there’s no such thing as a locally sourced mango in Philadelphia) but I think if everyone made these choices 80-90% of the time there would be a serious impact on the pollution, landfill and just general destruction of the planet. Every little bit helps. And a nice side effect of this type of diet is the lack of toxins that you put into your own body in the form of pesticides, processed foods and so on. Congrats on your decision, the planet thanks you!

  5. I say good for you, and I love that you are going about it slow and steady! I look forward to following your progress.

    Okay – off topic, onto running… a question for you – how do you get your split times, are they from your watch? just curious!

  6. Cindi Yohn

    Amanda, Vanessa Bordlee would be a great resource for you about nutritional requirements of Veg. diet, and raising children on veg. diet. You may remember that she is an RN. She and Steve and their little ones are in Montgomery now. I have reconnected on facebook without any pressure at all! Love, Mom WTG!!!!

  7. Pingback: Well, Its Not a VitaMix … « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

