2 New Recipes

I’ve got two new exciting recipes to share, but first …

I signed up for another Half Marathon! I had so much fun at the first one that pretty much as soon as I got home I was looking for more. The next one is on Valentine’s Day in Birmingham, Alabama (my home town) and it is the Mercedes Marathon and Half Marathon.

The course on this one is going to be much harder than the first one I did. The entire first half of the race will be mostly uphill. But I’ll get to see this guy along the way …

He is the Vulcan, and he’s the largest iron statue in the United States. He holds a torch in his hand and the torch is lit with a green or red light. The green light indicates that safety in the city and the red light indicates that there has been a vehicular fatality that day and reminds the people of Birmingham to travel safely. Atleast this used to be true … I have heard rumors that the torch no longer lights up.

The best thing about this race is that Tim is going to run it with me this time! Yay! My mom who is a former marathoner will also be there taking care of my little boy and cheering us on. I can’t wait!

Now on to the yummy eats …

In my search for new exciting vegetarian recipes I came across Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos. I have to say that I was a little skeptic at first, but with all the wonderful reviews I had to give it a try. I’m happy to report that they are absolutely delicious!

Sweet Potato Burritos

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 cups canned kidney beans, drained refried beans
  • 2 cups water
  • 3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 4 teaspoons prepared mustard
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper, or to taste (needs more!)
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 4 cups cooked and mashed sweet potatoes
  • 12 (10 inch) flour tortillas, warmed
  • 8 ounces shredded Cheddar cheese
  • salt
  • Directions

    1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
    2. Heat oil in a medium skillet, and saute onion and garlic until soft. Stir in beans, and mash. Gradually stir in water, and heat until warm. Remove from heat, and stir in the chili powder, cumin, mustard, cayenne pepper and soy sauce salt.
    3. Divide bean mixture and mashed sweet potatoes evenly between the warm flour tortillas. Top with cheese. Fold up tortillas burrito style, and place on a baking sheet.
    4. Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven, and serve.

     I used a large (31 oz) can of Fat Free Refried Beans instead of Kidney beans, and I forgot to add the mustard and soy sauce that the recipe called for and it was still absolutely delicious. I don’t think I’d bother with mustard and soy sauce, that seems weird to me anyway. This recipe made so much of the mixture that I couldn’t use it all so I froze it for a later date. I also froze a few of the leftover burritos to reheat for a quick lunch.

    The second recipe I made was Black Bean and Corn Salad II. I needed something to go along with the burritos and this looked cool and refreshing.

    Black Bean and Corn Salad II

  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
  • 2 (15 ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels
  • 1 avocado – peeled, pitted and diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 6 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
  • Directions

    1. Place lime juice, olive oil, garlic, salt, and cayenne pepper in a small jar. Cover with lid, and shake until ingredients are well mixed.
    2. In a salad bowl, combine beans, corn, avocado, bell pepper, tomatoes, green onions, and cilantro. Shake lime dressing, and pour it over the salad. Stir salad to coat vegetables and beans with dressing, and serve.

    Soooooo yummy! I really think next time I’ll use half the amount of oil and lime juice. I didn’t think it needed quite as much dressing as it had.

    Mine looked like this …

    Although I haven’t officially made the switch, I’m really enjoying experimenting with vegetarian recipes.

    What are your favorite vegetarian or vegan dishes?

    3 Comments

    Filed under Food, Half Marathon, pictures, Recipes, responsible eating, vegetarian

    3 responses to “2 New Recipes

    1. oh yum! Hey, is that statue the one that’s butt is naked and they had to paint pants on it?

    2. As far as I know his butt is still naked. I do know that he cracked one year though … on his butt. LOL

    3. OMG…Im so gonna try these…hope I do it right…thanks for sharing chica:)

    Leave a Reply

    