Everyone Deserves A Second Chance

This morning I decided that I would give my jog stroller a 2nd chance. You might remember from a previous post that I bought a $300 jog stroller and then absolutely hated it. It was hard to steer because it had a fixed wheel, it was heavy and the first time I used it I could only run about 1 mile with it and then I had to walk the rest of the way.

Its been several months since I’ve tried it out and I decided that today I would give it another go. My running endurance and my strength have greatly increased since the last time I used the stroller so I was hopeful that my experience would be better this time.

Lincoln and I set out to Blount Cultural Park this morning. I planned to attempt an easy 4 miles with the stroller. Lincoln was game …

The first mile was HARD! But after that I got into the groove and it wasn’t so bad. I was able to complete all 4 miles that I set out to do without having to stop and walk. I actually discovered that it is easier to give the stroller a big push and then catch up with it and push it again. Once I figured out that little trick it really wasn’t any big deal at all.

Running with the stroller dropped my pace from my normal 8:30 pace to a 9:30 pace, but that doesn’t really matter to me. I’m just glad that I got to spend some quality running time with my baby boy. After my run we stopped to feed the geese.

And took some random pictures …

I’m really relieved that I had a decent experience with the jog stroller, now I don’t feel so bad for spending the money on it. I don’t think I’ll use it everyday by any means, and I certainly won’t be entering any races with it anytime soon but atleast I feel like I can use it for some of my shorter easy runs every now and then.

My eats for today included:

A Chocolate Chip & Spinach Pancake for breakfast with an omelet made with leftover Corn and Black Bean Salad.

Lunch was a leftover Sweet Potato Burrito and more Corn and Black Bean Salad.

I had lots of not so healthy snacks at a baby shower I attended tonight and then dinner was a Spinach, Red Onion and Mushroom Quesadilla from El Rey which I didn’t get a picture of. I actually ordered the Enchilada but they got it wrong. Turns out the restaurant didn’t have any highchairs; we tried to let Lincoln sit in the booth with us but he started climbing all over the place and crying when I tried to make him sit down. I ended up just getting my food to go and taking him home. It was a really miserable experience! There’s nothing like paying $40 for food and having to eat it at home luke warm and then finding out they didn’t even get your order right. Grrrr!

Anyway, I’m off now to finish the Big Love episode I started last night and fell asleep during. Maybe this time I’ll actually make it to the end. See you tomorrow!

1 Comment

Filed under family, Food, Gear, pictures, Restaurants, Running

One response to “Everyone Deserves A Second Chance

  1. I am glad you had a decent experience, I for one hate the damn jog stroller, you’re a better woman than moi!

Leave a Reply

