An Unexpected Rest Day

My shin has been aching since Thursday when I ran my 4 miles at the park with the jog stroller. I’m not sure if the problem was the extra weight of the jog stroller or if I just need new shoes. I don’t think its quite time for new shoes yet, but maybe so. Either way … I can’t ignore the discomfort anymore. I ran the 5K yesterday against my better judgement. Today I was scheduled to do my weekly long run (9 miles), but I’m just going  to have to reschedule it.

When I first got out of bed this morning my shin was so tight I was slightly limping. Since I’ve been up for several hours now and taken some Ibuprofen it has really loosened up. I probably could physically run 9 miles right now, but I think my body is asking me to take  a rest day. So I will listen.

I’m working an extra shift at the hospital tonight to help with my goal of paying off our debt. So I’ve been doing some housework today in the meantime. I can’t stand to go to work with a messy house!

For breakfast I had Honey Oikos with Cascadian Farms Granola (a totally organic breakfast!)

I thought that I would take this rest day as an opportunity to reunite with an old friend. My breadmaker!

Tim gave me my breadmaker for Christmas last year and I used it alot for a good while, but I haven’t made anything in it recently. This morning I decided to make some Zucchini Bread (my way of course). I used the recipe in my breadmaker manual as a guide and then put my own spin on it by adding carrots, pecans and chocolate chips.

I only ended up using 1 1/2 carrots and 1 zucchini and I still had more than what the recipe called for. Just dump everything in the breadmaker (in the correct order) and with the touch of a button you get fresh Zucchini Bread in about an hour and a half.

Taaadaa!

For lunch I made pizzas on Flat Out Wraps with the usual suspects: spinach, goat cheese, red onion, red pepper and mushrooms.

And for dessert I had a half a slice of the Zucchini Bread with a smear of cream cheese. Mmmm!

Its pouring down rain outside right now and I’m headed to bed for a nap before my extra work shift tonight. Have a great day!

2 Comments

Filed under Bread Machine, Food, Injuries, pictures, Training Programs

2 responses to “An Unexpected Rest Day

  1. The bread must smell divine! So jealous!

  2. Pingback: Pledge to Be Veg – Day 1 … Done! « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

