Long Run, Pizza and Brownies

I’m baaaack! I had a wild few nights at the “Baby Factory”, but all is good. I got off work at 7 am this morning and slept until about 1 pm. I could have easily slept until 4 or 5 but I wanted to have plenty of daylight left to get in my long run for the week.

Tim baked me a potato for lunch. He ate half and I ate half. I planned on topping mine with cheese and steamed broccoli, but I ended up having a much more unique and probably less healthy combination: hummus, margarine and Tzatziki. Weirdest combo ever! But delicious!

After lunch we got dressed and headed out to Fort Toulouse for our 9-miler. Tim decided on the way that he’d switch this week and next week’s long runs and do a 10-miler today instead because of his work schedule next week. I really wasn’t feeling up for a run today, but I bit the bullet.

This is my, “I’m about to do something I really don’t feel like doing right now” face.

As soon as I got out on the road my attitude changed though and I really had a great run!

I finished 9 miles in 1:17:04.

My splits were:

  1. 8:26
  2. 8:28
  3. 8:28
  4. 8:25
  5. 8:50 (stopped to drink water)
  6. 8:39
  7. 8:40
  8. 8:34
  9. 8:40

I was pleased with my really speedy run! Today was the first day I got to wear my new shoes outside and I really like them. They were stiff and heavy to begin with, but they are breaking in nicely.

After my run I gathered my Kindle, cellphone, water, ice packs, keys and Gu and found a nice picnic table to sit at and read and ice my knees until Tim finished up his run. Unfortunately as soon as I turned my Kindle on it was D-E-A-D, dead.

Oh well … you win some, you lose some.

On another note: Orange Roctane Gu is disgusting! I mean really really disgusting. I much prefer Strawberry Banana.

I got some strange looks walking around with these puppies on my knees:

I couldn’t think of any fancy vegetarian recipes to try tonight so Tim and I decided to make a couple pizzas. Mine included: tomato sauce, feta cheese, portobello mushrooms, purple basil (from my Aerogarden) spinach, red onion and red bell pepper.

I had two big pieces with 2 beers.

I may have gone back for a third smaller piece, but I’ll never tell.

Tim convinced me that brownies for dessert was a good idea, so I’m baking brownies and planning on spending the rest of the evening on the couch watching Big Love.

5 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Running, vegetarian

5 responses to “Long Run, Pizza and Brownies

  1. oh what a great run! Glad the new shoes are working out!

  2. That pizza looks great! LOVE portabellas on pizza.

    Saweet long run. Is Toulouse a good place for a long run? Did you have to repeat any parts, or can you do out and back?

    • Toulouse is a pretty decent place for a long run. Its really flat and it has a bike lane. The road is 5 miles out and back from the back gate inside Toulouse to the Post Office on the corner. I usually end up doing it twice which is annoying but its a safe, flat place.

  3. Mad Ethel

    This is a bit off subject, but I wonder – what is your normal routine for stretching? Do you stretch before and after or just after? And are there any specific stretches you do that seem to benefit you the most?

    • I’m a bad stretcher. I’ve just recently realized the importance of it. Everything I have read though suggests warming up with light cardio and then stretching only after running and not before. Something about stretching cold muscles is a bad thing. Lately I’ve been trying to spend atleast a solid 5 minutes stretching after I run, but I’m very impatient and just usually want to be done!

Leave a Reply

