So Many Books …

So little time!

These are just some of the books that I have right now that I need/want to read. That doesn’t even count the books on my Kindle that I’m reading for pure fun. Whew!

I’ve been trying to read everything I can get my hands on about Vegetarianism lately. So far I finished Living Vegetarian for Dummies. It was a really good resource book. I wish I would have bought the actual book instead of the Kindle version to keep around to look recipes and information up in. Its a new book that was published in November 2009 so the information is really accurate and up to date.

I went to the library today to return a few books (that I never even got a chance to read) and I picked up The Busy Person’s Guide to Preserving Food. I’ve been interested in canning my own food lately. I’ve been buying canned salsa and perserves at the Farmer’s Market and I started thinking that I could probably do the same thing myself at home much cheaper than I can buy it.

Of course there is the Unofficial Walt Disney World Guide that I have to read at some point to help plan our vacation. The Perinatal Nursing book is a study guide for me to get my National Certification in Obstetrical Nursing, which will earn me an extra $1/hr once I’m certified. I’d like to get my certification before my yearly evaluation date which is in June. So much to do!

Today I made my usual Chocolate Chip and Spinach Pancakes, but I added a new component.

Banana! One of the tips in my Living Vegetarian book for vegans was to replace an egg in a sweet recipe with 1/2 of a banana, so I thought I’d give it a try. It was delicious! Of course my pancakes still weren’t vegan because they contained cow’s milk, but that could be easily be replaced with soymilk, almond milk, etc.

I gave my legs a rest from running today and opted for an hour on the elliptical instead. I figured with all the aches and pains I’ve had lately and with the Mercedes Half Marathon coming up this weekend, it would be a good idea to taper this week. I plan on running tomorrow and Wednesday and then crosstraining Thursday, either crosstraining or rest on Friday, rest Saturday and race Sunday.

I read one of my other books for the full hour while I worked out, 3rd Degree by James Patterson. Its much easier to read my Kindle on the elliptical than an actual paper book.

For lunch I had a small salad and a big bowl of Lentil Soup. I finally froze the rest of it. I swear that recipe makes enough to feed an army! I’ll spare you the picture since you’ve seen it like 5 times.

Now I’m snacking on Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt and Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

Time to get ready to head back to work. See you guys on Thursday!

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Food, Half Marathon Training, pictures

3 responses to “So Many Books …

  1. ABI

    Dudette, I tried the sweet tater burrito recipe–heart it! Even my sweet potato-hatin’ hubby liked! Thanks for sharing! Can’t wait to try the pancakes!!

  2. Can you post the recipe for the pancakes? Looks yummy!

    • There really isn’t a recipe Deanna. I just made it up. Basically I made the pancake mix according to the directions on the Bisquick box and then poured in some mini chocolate chips, milled flax seed (about 1/4 cup), and chopped wilted spinach (could use frozen chopped).

Leave a Reply

