First Post-Race Run

I haven’t run since the Mercedes Half Marathon until today. I mentioned before about the terrible blisters I got during the race, but those healed quickly. I must have pulled a muscle in the sole of my right foot though because I have been in excrutiating pain since the race. I was actually limping at work Monday night and a little Tuesday night. I wanted to make sure I gave my body plenty of time to heal so I traded my Tuesday and Wednesday runs this week for elliptical time instead.

I only slept 4 hours today after working all night, but the weather was absolutely perfect for a run and my foot was feeling much better so I decided to go for it. To motivate me I wore my finisher’s shirt from the race.

I ran 4.5 miles around my neighborhood. It should have been a nice easy run, but for some reason I felt very heavy, slow and sluggish. Maybe lack of sleep? I don’t often have what I would consider bad runs, but when I do they really get me down.

My slow, sluggish run wasn’t really all that slow and sluggish when I looked at the data:

Mile 1 – 8:34
Mile 2 – 8:29
Mile 3 – 8:23
Mile 4 – 8:30
.5 Mile – 4:24 (uphill)

I guess the feeling was all in my head. What wasn’t in my head though was the knee pain that I started feeling around 2.5 miles. It wasn’t a sharp pain or anything that made me think I would injure myself if I kept going, but it was just a dull nagging ache. I’ve experienced this before, but never on such a short run. I made sure to stretch well and ice my knees afterwards.

I’m headed to bed now for some much needed rest, but if you would like to see the professional pictures from Saturday’s race they are here.

Leave a comment

Filed under pictures, Running

Leave a Reply

