Let’s Play Pretend

Somehow I got it in my mind last night that I wanted a Vita Mix blender. I’m not even sure what made the thought pop into my head, but of course I headed straight over to YouTube to find some videos of the Vita Mix in action.

After watching that video, I was sold! So I headed over to the Vita Mix Website to check out the price tag. Whoa! Back up! $450?! Ok, maybe not … atleast not right now. Checked Amazon, checked eBay … must.find.cheap.vitamix. Nothing!

I told Tim about the Vita Mix (I actually woke him up to tell him about it), and he told me to order it if I want it. Hmmm. Do I trust the words of a sleeping man? I decided that its just not an amount of money that I can spend on an appliance right now, but I vowed that as soon as I have my debt paid off I’m getting one first thing!

This morning I decided to play make-believe that my blender was a Vita Mix. Lincoln was screaming for “joosh! joosh! joosh!”. So I broke out the ol’ blender and added in some random things to make him a breakfast smoothie with lots of vitamins.

His “joosh” contained:

  • 1/4 cup leftover fruit salad with pineapple, cherries and peaches
  • 1 cup raw baby spinach
  • cherry tomatoes
  • clementine
  • splash of V8

I have to say it looked pretty disgusting!

My fake Vita Mix also leaked on my countertop while I was blending. 😦

I tasted the smoothie and it actually tasted pretty good despite the appearance. Lincoln thought it was delicious! He sucked it right down. Yay for actually getting him to ingest something besides fish sticks and corndogs!

I intended to cook a healthy breakfast this morning but after cleaning up the blender/countertop I opted for a bowl of cereal instead.

Do you have a Vita Mix blender? Do you feel like its worth the steep price tag? What types of things do you like to use it for?

I’m excited about making:

  • Nut butters
  • Homemade flour with whole grains
  • Smoothies
  • Juices
  • Soups

I have an insane amount of housework to do today, so I’m off! I shall return. Dinner tonight is going to be this interesting Lentil Loaf recipe. It could be delish or disaster. Stay tuned. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under appliances, Food, pictures, Wish List

3 responses to “Let’s Play Pretend

  1. I don’t have a Vitamix but I would LOVE one! I’ve heard they are definitely worth the money, but you’re right, $450 is a bit steep. Perhaps you could approach the Vitamix people and offer to post a month’s worth ofVitamix recipes (with pictures and product reviews, of course) in exchange for one??

  2. Pingback: Well, Its Not a VitaMix … « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

