Zoo Picnic, Long Run and Indian Food

I really wanted today to be a nice family day. The weather was absolutely beautiful so I planned a picnic for the zoo. When I first started getting healthy I would go out to the zoo almost everyday and push Lincoln in his stroller as fast as I could around the perimeter of the zoo. I got pretty burnt out on the zoo doing that, so its been quite a while since we’ve been.

I forgot my camera today, but our picnic included:

  • Homemade hummus with veggie strips and pita bread.
  • Grapes
  • String Cheese
  • Kashi Dark Chocolate Granola Cookie

It was a healthy and filling lunch.

Lincoln loved playing on the playground, chasing the choo choo train and seeing all the animals. It was exactly the relaxing time I needed today!

After our zoo trip we headed out for our long run. I ran 9 miles in 1:18:27. I’ll spare you the split breakdowns today. It felt good to get a nice long run under my belt after the tough week I’ve had.

The first 4 miles flew by, then around mile 5 my stomach started cramping a little bit and I knew I needed to go to the bathroom, but I figured I could make it until I was finished. At several points I thought I wasn’t going to make it and I was going to have to go to the bathroom in the woods. TMI, I know. Just when I thought I couldn’t take it anymore the pain would ease off a bit and I would feel better. I was able to complete the mileage, but just barely.

All in all it was a sucessful run.

I thought alot about my problems with binge eating today, and I came up with an idea that seems quite juvenile but just might help. I bought a pack of tiny stickers, and I decided that for each day I don’t binge I will put a sticker for that day on my calendar. I’m proud to say I got a sticker for today. Can you find it? Its quite small.

I promised Tim that since we didn’t get to go out for Indian food last night, we would go tonight instead. Our city has exactly one Indian restaurant, India Palace, and we’ve never been there before. I have always enjoyed Indian food, but it upsets my stomach every time I have it so I don’t very often. Its probably been close to 5 years since I’ve had any.

For an appetizer we ordered Veg Pakora (Fried Spiced Veggie Fritters).

Soooo AMAZING!

We also ordered some Garlic Naan to go with our meal.

Tim ordered Aloo Gobi Masala (Potatoes and Cauliflower cooked in Indian spices).

And I had Navrathan Korma (Mixed vegetables cooked in a mild creamy sauce).

All together now …

Tim thought his Aloo Gobi was the winner, but I felt like my Korma was far superior. His meal almost melted my face off! I prefer the milder spices.

I made sure to pay attention to my hunger cues and not to overdo it. I had about 4 of the appetizers, 1 piece of Naan, and a very small serving of each dish with rice. It was the perfect amount! I left feeling satisfied but not uncomfortable. And now I have leftovers for lunch tomorrow 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating Disorders, Food, Long Runs, pictures, Restaurants

Leave a Reply

