A Strong Run

I woke up at about 5:30 this morning and couldn’t go back to sleep. Lincoln insisted on sleeping with us last night and he kicked me all night, finally I just decided to get up. I had such a productive and quiet morning. It made me wish I got up earlier every morning.

I decided to cook up some sweet potatoes that I’ve had sitting around for a while. I mashed the sweet potatoes and added them to pancake batter. I thought I’d surprise the family with pancakes that didn’t contain spinach for once.

I had two pancakes and two veggie sausage links. They were so yummy! Tim said they were the best pancakes he’s ever eaten, thats hard to believe though considering he says everything is “the best thing he ever put in his mouth”. Lincoln seemed to agree though, he ate a whole one.

My pancakes contained:

  • 2 VERY LARGE mashed sweet potatoes
  • 2 cups Bisquick
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 Tbsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed

The recipe made 9 large pancakes. I love to freeze them for later and reheat for quick breakfasts.

While the sweet potatoes cooked I took the opportunity to finish the latest book I’ve been reading, Dear John by Nicholas Sparks.

I’ve never actually read any Nicholas Sparks books before. Actually, I’ve never been much of a reader at all until the past year or so. Ever since I got my Kindle life changed! I’ve been devouring all the books I can get my hands on now.

I haven’t seen the movie, but the book was amazing! I’d definitely recommend it.

Lincoln and I ran some mundane errands after breakfast including: grocery shopping, filling up the gas tank and going to the post office. I mailed off my registration for my next race, a 10K on March 6th. I’ve never actually had to mail a registration before, I’ve always done it online, but for some reason this one wasn’t on active. Believe it or not this will be my first ever 10K. I’m excited, I think 6.2 miles will be a perfect racing distance and … no matter how I do I’ll PR 🙂

Lunch was Tofu Stir Fry with brown rice.

Like my old school plate? Its actually my grandmothers; I keep forgetting to give it back.

Lincoln and I took a delicious nap together this afternoon, which I rarely ever get to do. I definitely needed it after waking up extra early this morning.

After naptime I ran 5 miles on the treadmill. It was getting too dark to go outside. Normally I hate my treadmill runs, but for some reason this one was awesome. I let my mind wander while I was running and I kept imagining running the Disney Marathon next year with my friend Bailey and Tim. I thought about how great its going to feel to meet such a seemingly unreachable goal. Who would have ever thought a year ago that that 260 pound, pack a day smoker would be planning on running a marathon?!

My mind wandered more and I thought about all the things in my life that I’ve done that have taken extreme amounts of courage, strength, and determination. I thought about:

  • Completing nursing school
  • Losing 115 pounds
  • Quitting smoking
  • Running 2 Half Marathons and many other races
  • Saving a life
  • Becoming a vegetarian

I’ve never thought about all of those things collectively, and when I did I was amazed at what a strong person I can be. It made for a great run!

I finished 5 miles in 42:23.

Dinner tonight was a Sweet Potato Burrito with Black Bean & Corn Salad.

I think this is one of my most favorite meals ever! I could have easily gone back for a 2nd burrito, and I considered it, but I stopped myself and asked myself “am I still hungry? do I need more?” The answer was no. So I stopped. Yay! I’ve gotten a star everyday on my calendar so far since Sunday for no binges!

I’m off to spend some time infront of the boob tube. Have a great night! I’m sorry to say I’ll most likely be MIA again until Sunday, its back to work time tomorrow night.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Motivation, pictures, Recipes, Running, Thoughts

3 responses to “A Strong Run

  1. That burrito looks amazing and delicious. I have acquired a love for sweet potatoes since moving to the south. I have found that mashed sweet potatoes are a great way to thicken chili (veggy or meaty) , gives a wonderful unique flavor. I also used chili and cheese as a topping for baked sweet potatoes

    Sounds like your doing the Resurrection Run 10K. That race is one of my favorites and I always do well on it. Most of my running buddies are doing that one as well, but I will have to miss it, because I’m running the Seaside Half-Marathon on March 7. I hope you do well.

  2. Sarah

    You have accomplished so much! It took me 8 years after quitting smoking to lose weight and start running. I am still a ways away from goal but you definitely inspire me to get it done.

  3. Marion

    You are truly amazing and such an inspiration to all around you. I added Heather Small’s song from Biggest Losers to be my first workout song on my iPod playlist…titled Proud…says “what have you done today to make you feel proud”. Your days must have quite the list and you should be feeling VERY PROUD each and every day. I love you girl and I’m very very proud of you. Take care of those knees!

Leave a Reply

