How Exactly Do You Eat a Mango Anyway??

Good Morning! Yesterday was a very un-blog-worthy day. Lots of errands were done including a doctors appointment and some light grocery shopping. I always seem to forget what I went in for if I don’t write it down. I bought $16 worth of stuff and still forgot the one thing I wanted to buy.

I did buy some Kale. I’ve never eaten Kale that I know of, but I was interested in giving it a try. Kale has almost twice the amount of calcium as spinach, and 10% of daily recommended amounts of iron (Spinach has 15%). I also read that one of the nutrients in kale is much more easily absorbed than the same nutrient in spinach, but I can’t remember now if it was the calcium or the iron.

Since I don’t really know what to do with kale, I decided to take the easy way out and make a Green Monster.

My GM contained:

  • 2 cups Kale
  • 1 cup Rice Milk
  • 1 banana

Despite the picture it did not include beer.

The kale had a much stronger taste than the spinach in my Green Monster. Normally I can’t even taste the spinach, but I could definitely taste the kale. It wasn’t a bad taste, it was just noticeable. Also the kale didn’t seem to blend as well as the spinach normally does, leaving small leafy chunks in my GM. This could be a problem with my blender though since I don’t have a VitaMix yet. (Shameless!) Overall I think the kale was ok, but I prefer the spinach.

Speaking of trying new foods, I bought a mango. I’ve eaten mango before in things, but I’ve never bought one. This is what a whole mango looks like if you are not familiar.

I didn’t really know the proper way to cut a mango, so I just went at it straight down the middle. That didn’t work at all. So then I tried cutting slices off of it, but the peel got in the way. Finally I just peeled it and ate off of it whole. Look at the huge mess I made trying to get into the mango …

So how exactly are you suppose to cut a mango anyway?

Last night Tim and I decided we didn’t really feel like eating at home. He’s been craving pizza from Mellow Mushroom lately, and he’s talked about it for atleast a week. We invited some friends to join us and we made a night of it. Tim and I ordered this yummy Kosmic Karma pizza.

The Kosmic Karma includes:

  • Sun-dried Tomatoes
  • Spinach
  • Feta
  • Tomatoes
  • Pesto

Atleast thats what they say … I never saw any sun-dried tomatoes or spinach on ours. It was delicious anyway. I plan on having a piece for lunch. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Restaurants

One response to “How Exactly Do You Eat a Mango Anyway??

  1. Pingback: Mangos Make Me Drop F Bombs | Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

