To Run … Or Not To Run?

Good morning!

I came home from work early last night because I was extremely congested and had alot of sinus pressure and we weren’t very busy. I got a decent night’s sleep and am feeling somewhat better this morning, but not 100%.

I decided to make a special breakfast this morning. I had a panettone loaf leftover from …. ooooh .. Christmas, that I decided to finally do something with. If you aren’t familiar with panettone it looks like this:


Panettone
is a typical bread of Milan, usually prepared and enjoyed for Christmas and New Year in Italy and Switzerland, and one of the symbols of the city of Milan. It contains candied orange, citron and lemon zest, as well as raisins, which are added dry and not soaked. (Reference)

I cut the panettone into cubes and made a french toast type casserole out of it.

My french toast contained:

  • 3 eggs
  • 1-1 1/2 cups rice milk
  • ground nutmeg
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla extract

I poured the mixture on top of the panettone cubes and baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

So yummy and so filling! Definitely not an everyday breakfast.

Yesterday during my 5-mile tempo run I noticed that the outside of my right foot was starting to hurt like it did after the Mercedes Half Marathon. This morning it is still feeling quite uncomfortable. I’m not sure what is causing this pain, but last time I had to rest my foot for 4-5 days before it felt good enough to run on again. Problem is … I’m registered for a 10K tomorrow morning. I feel like I could run it, but I know if I do that I probably won’t be able to run for several days afterwards. To run or not to run?

I’m going to rest today, maybe tape my foot with some athletic tape and stay off of it as much as possible. I’ll re-evaluate how it feels (plus my congestion) tonight and early tomorrow morning and make the decision about if I’m going to race or not.

Have a great day!

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Injuries, pictures, Recipes

3 responses to “To Run … Or Not To Run?

  1. I think you’re ready for your triathlon now! πŸ™‚

    If you vary up the workouts to non-weight bearing, you might find some of the pain eases in foot/shins/etc.

    It’s really REALLY good to vary it up, makes you so much stronger.

    You are a MUCH faster runner than me, but even I have gotten faster since adding the other events. You may find strength training helps decrease your pain too.

    πŸ™‚ You rock girl!!!

  2. I got in the pool for laps about 2 months before my first tri! It is NOT the hard part, the hardest part is going from the darn bike into the run…your legs do NOT want to cooperate. You seem really strong though, you TOTALLY kick my butt in the run, the fastest I get is 8:43 and that’s the fastest!!! I’m really slow! I’m thinking you could kill it! See if the Y has an tri teams and check it out πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

