Well, Its Not a VitaMix …

What an eventful day! I woke up this morning and ran outside to get the newspaper (ok, I lie … I made Tim go get it) to see the article about me that was published in the Montgomery Advertiser. How awesome! I still find it strange that people find me particulary inspiring or motivating. Don’t get me wrong … I’m glad they do, but I truly believe that anyone can do what I have done. Its just takes time and dedication. The dedication is the hard part, time will pass either way.

Anyway … Tim has been begging me to make my Sweet Potato Pancakes again so I decided today was his lucky day. There really isn’t any specific recipe involved, I just used Bisquick per the box instructions and added mashed sweet potatoes, cinnamon and brown sugar. As usual I didn’t measure anything. I made enough to feed an army! I like to freeze them and reheat them for quick meals in the mornings. Hey, if Aunt Jemima can do it so can I.

After breakfast I packed up all the meat in my deep freezer to give to my friend Nicole. Most of you know that I became a vegetarian about a month and a half ago after seeing the movie Food Inc and taking a 30 Day Pledge to Be Veg. (Missed that? Read about it here and here.) I couldn’t believe how much meat we had!

Honestly I had mixed feeling about getting rid of it. Now I’m glad that its gone though. I can work on filling up my deep freezer with healthy foods 🙂

Lunch today was leftover Vegetarian Chili from dinner last night. Another simple recipe-less meal, and this one no one would ever know it was meatless unless you told them. I started making this while I was on Weight Watchers to cut down on the fat and calories in chili and it was so delicious that I’ve been making it this way ever since.

My chili contains:

  • 2 cans of chili beans, 1 can of kidney beans
  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of mushrooms (optional)
  • 1 package of Boca Crumbles (found in the freezer section, sometimes difficult to find but Publix has them) or any other ground meat replacement.
  • Chili seasoning packet
  • 1 chopped onion

I put all the ingredients in a crockpot and cook it on high for 4 hours or low for 6. You really can’t mess it up! Serve on top of tortilla chips (baked ones work well) with a little cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

Lincoln has been begging to see his Nana and Papa lately, so after lunch we took him for a visit. They were kind enough to keep him while Tim and I went for a quick run. I actually intended to run 8 miles today, but time slipped away from me and I only had time to fit in 4 miles. We went to a new track at Auburn University Montgomery, I’ve actually been to the track once but Tim hadn’t been yet. Its a 2 mile loop that is mostly asphalt, but there is a section that is gravel.

The weather was absolutely perfect!

The track is actually right beside my old nursing school, which brings back a lot of memories.

After our run we raced (no pun intended) over to Costco before they closed to get a few items. We stocked up on hummus, tzatziki, fruit, milk, veggie burgers, and cashews. Really random … I know. But the thing I was most excited about was the Blendtec Blender demo they happened to have going on while we were there.

If you read my blog regularly, you know that I’ve been drooling over the Vita-Mix Blender for a couple of weeks now. (Post here). I was turned off by the heavy price tag but still determined that one day the Vita-Mix would be mine! Well, my dream came true today … sorta. I watched Anthony, the Blendtec dude, demonstrate the blender for atleast half and hour. He made me ice cream, soup, flour from rice, corn meal from popcorn kernels, italian ice, and juice … and I was IN LOVE! (With the blender, not Anthony … well … maybe).

Tim ok’d it (actually he insisted), so we took this baby home!

The new love of my life!

I used my new Blendtec to make Homemade Black Bean Burgers for dinner tonight. I put in all the ingredients and blended it all up and then shaped it into burgers. I served my burgers with a side of sweet potato fries. Yes, I ate sweet potatoes twice today. What can I say? They are so versatile!

Now its time for Big Love! And maybe some homemade icecream … hmmm. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under appliances, Food, pictures, Recipes, Running, vegetarian

2 responses to “Well, Its Not a VitaMix …

  1. I always get very hungry when I read your blog.

  2. Pingback: Get Your Juice On | Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

