A Change Of Pace

Normally on my off days I get up and make breakfast for the family and then spend the morning cleaning and running errands. I end up thinking all day about when I can best fit my workout in to the day. Do I workout while Lincoln naps? What if he doesn’t? Do I wait until Hubby gets off work at 5? By then I might be hungry. Today I decided to change the pace.

I set my alarm for 6:30 this morning to head to the gym for an invigorating elliptical workout. At first I didn’t want to get up, my chest was burning from last night’s margaritas and I could still taste them on my breath. But I pulled myself together and finally got out the door. I did a solid hour on the elliptical while I read my latest book 4th of July by James Patterson. I don’t do the elliptical nearly enough. I always really enjoy it and the time goes by alot faster than on the treadmill for sure, but driving 15 minutes to get to the gym is a real bummer.

Yesterday I decided to change up the pace with my hair. I gave this picture to my hair dresser:

She told me that my hair wouldn’t look exactly like that because mine is much thinner, but that we could use that as a guide. My hair looks nothing like that! Not even remotely similar. As a matter of fact I don’t think she even considered the picture at all as she razored my hair to oblivion! It was a hair emergency that could only be remedied by shopping and margaritas with the BFFs.

The good news is I got a sweet green Tech T to wear in tomorrow’s St Patty’s Day Lucky 7K. Who has ever heard of a 7K anyway?

After my workout this morning I made a huge veggie omelet and a green juice for breakfast.

My omelet contained:

  • Baby Bella mushrooms
  • Diced yellow squash
  • Red Onion
  • Cheddar Cheese

I made it with Egg Beaters instead of whole eggs to cut down on the fat/calories.

My juice contained:

  • an apple
  • a tangerine
  • two handfuls of spinach

I have to say … it was horrible! I forced myself to drink it for the vitamins, but never again!

My breakfast didn’t hold me for long though, its only 10:50 and I’m already longing for lunch. I already have in mind what I want.

A couple of days ago I ran across these two recipes: School Lunch Bagel Sandwhich and The Best Veggie Sandwhich.  I couldn’t decide which one to make so I made both to compare them. I ate half of the english muffin one for a snack and I took the bagel to work for dinner.

They were both really good, but the Best Veggie Sandwhich (english muffin) was the clear winner. I didn’t have the exact ingredients the recipe called for so I substituted a few things.

My Veggie Sandwhich contained:

  • English muffin
  • Spinach and Artichoke Hummus
  • Mushrooms
  • Red Onion
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • A dollop of Ranch Dressing
  • A sprinkle of Toasted Sesame Seeds
  • Cheddar Cheese

I broiled it for about 3 minutes to melt all the cheese. It was divine! I’ve been craving another one for lunch.

2 Comments

Filed under exercise, Hair Do's, pictures, Recipes

2 responses to “A Change Of Pace

  1. Can we see pictures of the new haircut? Or are you still in the process of fixing it? I had my hair raped by a razor once. I’m so sorry!

  2. I don’t think there is any fix for this. I’m sure I’ll post pics, I only didn’t today because I didn’t dry it after my shower so right now its just a hot mess. For now I’ll keep you in suspense …

Leave a Reply

