New Hair, Costco & Indian Food

I have to admit, I’m liking my new hairstyle more than I did yesterday. I still wouldn’t say I love it, but I don’t hate it as much as I did before. I took a few pics this afternoon to share.

It is pretty annoying that its too short to put up in a ponytail while I’m exercising, but I’m sure I’ll get used to that also.

I completely ran out of smoothie supplies a couple days ago, hence the NASTY tangerine, apple, spinach concoction that I made the other day. I was scraping the bottom of the barrel for ingredients. We decided to take a trip to Costco tonight for mega-size bags of frozen fruit for smoothies.

I have a love/hate relationship with Costco. They have some amazing things that you can’t really find anywhere else, they have some really good deals, but because you have to buy everything in bulk you can end up spending a fortune on just a few items. I ended up with:

  • Frozen Strawberries
  • Mixed Frozen Fruit
  • Baking Potatoes
  • Broccoli Florets
  • Tortilla Chips
  • Roma Tomatoes
  • Tzatziki
  • Spinach Stuffed Ravioli
  • Pineapple
  • 3 bottles of wine
  • Spinach

Over $125 worth of groceries and all I went for was fruit. 😦

We packed everything in a big cooler that we brought with us to keep it cold while we went out to dinner at India Palace.

For an appetizer we ordered Pani Puri (Puffed canapes, seasonal garbanzo beans, potatoes and Indian salsa).

You break a hole in the puffs and fill it with the garbanzo bean mixture and then add the sauce to the top. It was so cool and refreshing. I really loved it!

We decided to order 3 entrees: one for me, one for him, and one to share. We ended up sharing them all though.

My entree was the Navrathan Korma (Mixed vegetables cooked in a mild creamy sauce).

This is the same thing I ordered last time we went. I’m such a creature of habit. I love trying new things but I’m always afraid I’ll end up with something I don’t like, so I have to have something to fall back on just in case.

Hubby’s entree was the Chhole Peshawari (Flavored chickpeas tempered with spices and onion gravy). Pretty tasty!

And our entree to share was the Paneer Tikka Masala (Cubes of fresh homemade cheese in a tomato based cream sauce).

It was also good, but probably my least favorite of the three. It tasted alot like tomato soup. The cheese was pretty much flavorless and I actually forgot it was cheese and thought it was tofu to begin with.

I ended up eating 2 servings about like this:

Only 1 piece of garlic naan though. I ended up having alot of my entree leftover, so I brought it home for lunch tomorrow. If I’m feeling generous I might let Tim have it.

I’m headed back to work tomorrow night. Three more night then I’ll have 8 glorious days off. We are planning a morning run tomorrow with the jog stroller so I better hit the hay. Don’t forget to change your clocks tonight!

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Hair Do's, pictures, Restaurants

3 responses to “New Hair, Costco & Indian Food

  1. Well done on your 2nd place in the run.
    And I like the new do. I think it looks really flattering. I hope you get used to it soon.
    xKylie

  2. Stephanie

    I think your new hair do is great! I know what you mean about being able to pull it up though, I think I would miss that more then anything. It would just feel weird, at least for a little while. Congratulations on the 2nd place in the run, that’s really great considering the weather conditions and all that you had to deal with. Hope you have a good night at work.

  3. Hey, new to blogging and came across your page.
    Your dinner out looks to die for. 🙂
    Hope you enjoy your 8 days off!

Leave a Reply

