Lets Put Things Into Perspective

I’m finally off work for 8 glorious days! Actually I have alot of things I need/want to accomplish, but most of it will be fun. I’m going to try my best to get some things done without letting myself get stressed. I want to enjoy my time off with my family, even if that means the house has to be less than perfect. My to-do list includes:

  1. Plan Lincoln’s birthday party.
  2. Make a scrapbook of my running stuff.
  3. Clean out the closets.
  4. Donate clothes that no longer fit.
  5. Get a new tire for my truck. (I’ve been driving around on a spare).

This morning when I came home from work I was craving a “real” breakfast. I decided to try out Caitlin‘s Mini Quiche recipe. My quiches contained:

  • Egg Beaters
  • Baby Bella mushrooms
  • Steamed Broccoli

I ended up eating 2 mini quiches and a side of home fries.

Pretty tasty! I think next time I’ll leave out the mushrooms and add in some cheddar cheese.

I had a 4 mile run on the schedule today. I planned on sleeping til about noon or 1:oo this afternoon and then going for a run before picking Lincoln up from his grandma’s. At 1:30 Tim came in and woke me up because I still hadn’t gotten out of bed. I managed to eventually pry myself from the comfort of my squishy bed, but then I couldn’t get motivated to run. I kept thinking of every reason in the world not to do it … “I deserve a break”, “I’ll run on one of my rest days instead”, etc. Finally I decided I’d just put on my running clothes and see how I felt.

Once I was dressed, I still wasn’t physically  motivated but I tried to think positive thoughts. One thing I heard a while back that really has stuck with me is “You’ll never regret a run that you did, only the ones you didn’t do”. I can’t remember where that came from, but that thought popped into my head today as I fought back and forth with myself. The thing that finally sealed the deal for me though was a conversation I had with a friend of mine that recently had surgery. I told him that I wasn’t motivated to run today and I was trying to convince myself to do it anyway, and he said to me, “Do it for me, because I can’t do it for myself”. That statement really got me thinking about all the people in the world that would love the opportunity to be able to run but can’t for various reasons, and here I was complaining just because I was tired.

I decided to run on the treadmill because the weather was gloomy and cool today and it looked like the bottom could drop out at any minute. I listened to the most recent episode of  Two Gomers Run A Marathon while I ran. One of the “gomers” got hit by a car while on a run a couple weeks ago and today he talked about how he’s been angry that he hasn’t been able to run lately because of his fractured ribs. I thought that was pretty ironic considering the internal debate I had just had with myself a few minutes before. It really helped put things into perspective.

I ended up having a pretty good run. I completed 4 miles in 33:43 and I was glad I did it.

Now its family time! Have a great night.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Motivation, Running

2 responses to “Lets Put Things Into Perspective

  1. emma

    Hi Amanda,
    I’m not sure how I came across your blog a few days ago, but I’m glad I did. I love it! Like you, I’m 28, I quit smoking last year and took up running. I actually started eating vegetarian in Jan. 2010, too. It was kind of weird to read about our similarities. Anyway, I love reading about your running and training, and I have been absolutely lusting over your times. Do you do speedwork or how do you get your times so fast? It seemed like you shaved a bunch of time off your 5K and then you’ve been speedy ever since. I just wanted to thank you for writing your blog and continuing to inspire all of us!

    • Wow, it really does sound like we have alot in common! I do some speedwork, but not much honestly. As I lost weight my times just naturally improved. I think I’m just a super competitive person, especially against myself. I’m glad you found my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

