Early Morning Running

For the last couple of mornings I have been setting my alarm to get up at 6:20 for my workouts. I usually don’t run until later in the day on my days off, but then I get in the afternoon sleepy funk and start dreading it. I also have to plan my runs around Lincoln’s naps or schedule it so that I have a babysitter. So I decided instead of fighting all of these outside factors I would try something new and get my workouts out of the way first thing.

Yesterday I did the elliptical. Every now and then I like to change things up and crosstrain instead of running, especially on days when I’m feeling injured. My right shin has been bothering me a bit, so I gave it a impact rest by doing the elliptical. Honestly I think my elliptical workouts are actually more strenuous than running. I did 1 solid hour on the heartrate control setting, which I set to keep my HR at 150. I burned almost 600 calories 🙂

Today I ran. It was such a beautiful morning that I actually felt guilty running on the treadmill instead of hitting the streets. The work traffic was heavy this morning and it was chilly outside though, so I stuck to the mill. Some people never run on a treadmill, and some people never run outside … I like to do a good mixture of both. It keeps things interesting and helps me keep from getting burned out. I have a treadmill at home, but since the family was still asleep I decided to drive to the gym and use the treadmill there.

Today’s tempo run was suppose to be: 1 mile warmup, which I usually run at 6.5 mph or 9:13 pace, and then 3 miles at an 8:24 pace with a 1 mile cooldown. A total of 5 miles. I did my 1 mile warmup as planned, then I ran my 3 miles at 8:20 pace. There is no such thing as an 8:24 pace on a treadmill … 7.1 mph = 8:27, 7.2 mph= 8:20. After my 3 miles I felt so great I decided to go ahead and finish out my last mile at the same pace. I planned on cooling down after that, but time slipped away from me. Shame shame, I know!

I did 5 miles in 42:36.

The funny thing about the gym is that I catch people looking at my machine while I’m running. I don’t know if they are trying to see how far I’ve run or what speed I’m running at, but it always cracks me up when I catch someone staring. I actually had someone ask me the last time I went, “did you just run 5 miles?!”. I guess its not everyday that someone comes in and bangs out 5 miles on the treadmill.

My post-run breakfast was Strawberry Chobani with Honey Almond Flax granola.

Now I’m off to spend the day with my favorite almost-2-year-old boy. We have some birthday party planning to do! I’m also working on a grocery list for an interesting dinner tonight. I found a couple recipes in the latest edition of Vegetarian Times that I thought I’d make. Stay tuned for my recipe reviews 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Running

Leave a Reply

