Vegetarian Times Recipes

What a busy day! I got alot accomplished on my to-do list though. I bought most of the decorations and supplies for Lincoln’s birthday party. Its going to be a firetruck themed party. He’s obsessed! I ordered his cake and we got some grocery shopping done.

Last night at Books-a-Million I picked up a copy of Vegetarian Times magazine. I decided I’d try out a few of the recipes tonight for dinner. I picked 3 recipes to try: Live Spring Rolls with Lemon-Ginger Dipping Sauce, Live Hot and Sour Soup, and Greens & Quinoa Pie. The ingredient list was quite extensive and expensive also, but I wanted to do something special for Friday night.

I won’t post the entire recipe here because I don’t know if that would be ok with copyright laws, but the spring rolls were basically julienned vegetables wrapped in romaine leaves with a dipping sauce made of tahini, lemon juice and a few other ingredients.

I kept everything seperated so everyone could make their rolls according to their own tastes.  I put a little bit of everything on mine.

The dipping sauce was the definite winner of this recipe. It was delicious!

The Live Hot and Sour Soup contained:

  • tomatoes
  • apricots
  • green onion
  • bean sprouts
  • cucumber
  • jalapeno
  • agave nectar
  • cayenne
  • cilantro
  • ginger

Honestly, I didn’t really care for the soup. My serving had WAY too much ginger in it. It actually made me feel kinda sick. Tim thought it was excellent though. So I guess different strokes for different folks.

My favorite of the 3 was the Greens & Quinoa Pie. It contained:

  • Turnip Greens (recipe called for Chicory, but I couldn’t find it or anything similar)
  • Romaine
  • Quinoa
  • Onions
  • Feta
  • Swiss cheese
  • Eggs

Like my old school casserole dish?

I think this is the first recipe I have ever made that actually looked exactly like the picture. It was pretty tasty too! The turnip greens gave it a definite twang. I wondered how it would have been with spinach instead of turnip greens. I can’t decide if it would be better or just bland. I had a pretty decent sized serving.

All together now …

After dinner I just didn’t feel quite finished so I had a couple of graham crackers with dark chocolate peanut butter. Mmmm! 🙂

On another note, I found a fabulous new snack at Fresh Market today. Veggie chips …

So yummy, but probably less healthy than it appears. I also bought some carrot chips that Lincoln happens to LOVE! He so rarely will eat veggies that I bought a huge bag of them just for him even though it cost me nearly $10!

Now its TV + wine time.

Tomorrow is suppose to be another gorgeous day. I have a 9 miler scheduled for Sunday, but its suppose to storm so I think I’m gonna take advantage of the perfect weather tomorrow instead.

Have a great night!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes, Vegetarian Times

4 responses to “Vegetarian Times Recipes

  1. All that food looks great.

    I also plan to do my long run today because Sunday’s forecast, in fact I’m heading out to the Shakespeare park this as soon as I finished my “surfin”.

    • You sure are up early! I don’t know why but for some reason Shakespeare is one of my least favorite places to run. I can never decide how I want to run around the park … on the road or on the trail. Last time I chose the trail I ended up with soaking wet shoes.

      I’ll probably end up at Toulouse because I’m sure that AUM track is too wet today from the rain earlier in the week. I think AUM is actually my favorite though.

  2. Pingback: So Much For The Rainy Day « Eat to Live, Live to Run

  3. rose

    i have used spinich and romain lettuce very good

Leave a Reply

