This Is Spring!

Today marks the first day of Spring! And what a beautiful spring day it was.

The weather was absolutely perfect for a long run. But first … breakfast.

This was another Caitlin inspired recipe, but I put my own spin on it. I had her Grilled Banana Sandwhich in mind when I created my Grilled Almond Butter and Banana Sandwhich. I used 1 piece of multigrain bread (each piece of bread is 140 calories!!!) and cut it in half. I spread about a Tbsp of Almond butter on each side of the bread, drizzled a little Agave nectar on the almond butter and topped it with 1/2 of a banana sliced. I then sprayed the bread with PAM spray and grilled it just like a grilled cheese. I sprinkled the top with a little powdered sugar. It was some serious awesomeness! I dare you to try it!

My long runs are typically on Sunday’s but because the weather was so ridiculously beautiful today, the hubby and I decided to take advantage of it before the rain starts again tomorrow. We headed out to our normal long run spot and got going. It felt so amazing! Not too hot and not too cool. The road was full of cyclist, walkers and runners today … normally its just a desolate strip of road.

I did 9 miles in 1:17:10. My splits if you are interested:

Mile 1 – 8:16
Mile 2 – 8:12
Mile 3 – 8:22
Mile 4 – 8:34
Mile 5 – 8:27
Mile 6 – 9:01 (stopped to drink)
Mile 7 – 8:38
Mile 8 – 8:51 (stopped to drink more)
Mile 9 – 8:45

The run felt great, but I aggravated a blister on my toe that I got yesterday during my 5 miler. Now its just totally gnarley … (forgive my nasty runner’s feet)

Running until you have blood blisters …. hardcore or stupid? I’ll let you decide.

After the run I was STARVING! Thankfully I still had one serving of Vegetarian Chili left in the fridge from earlier in the week. It was just what I needed.

Do you eat your chili with chips, cheese and sour cream? I don’t think I could have it any other way. It’s how I grew up.

We made a trip to Costco this afternoon, which is a completely dangerous spending place for me. I needed 4 new tires on my Trailblazer, which is not cheap 😦 I also managed to spend over $100 on other random stuff I probably didn’t need while I was there as well. One of the things we picked up was this awesome looking Margherita Pizza, which we are planning on making for dinner tonight.

We also picked up some Eggplant Parmesean, Baked Ziti (do I sense an Italian theme?), pineapple, asparagus, green beans, K Cups, and a huge container of pickle spears.

Hope everyone had a great 1st day of Spring!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Long Runs, pictures, Recipes, Weather

Leave a Reply

