A Great Day, A Great Workout

This morning I decided since the weather was so beautiful that I would take my baby boy to the zoo for our monthly Mother/Son activity, as listed in my 101 in 1001. We have an annual membership where we get in free, and it is about to expire at the end of the month so I figured it would be a great time to take advantage of it. Also Lincoln is completely obsessed with trains!

For breakfast I made another Grilled Banana Sandwhich. This time I grilled the banana by themselves before making the sandwhich, and then I grilled the whole thing. The banana were much gooey-er this time.

I also had a Green Monster.

My Green Monster contained:

  • Frozen mixed fruit (peaches, melon, nectarine, strawberries)
  • Kale
  • Water

It was pretty grody! I guzzled it down for the vitamins, but I certainly didn’t enjoy the taste. You win some, you lose some. It would have been better with a banana, but I figured I didn’t need 2 bananas in my breakfast.

I forgot to bring my camera to the zoo with us. 😦

Lincoln had an amazing time. As soon as we arrived we headed straight for the train. He sat in my lap without squirming the whole time and was completely in awe. I think I fell in love with him all over again. I told him, “I love you” and he said “I yuv you too Momma”. How precious!?

We played on the playground, looked at the animals and had lunch in the cafe while watching the Giraffes. The cafe didn’t have any good vegetarian options other than Grilled Cheese  so I had an order of French Fries.

When we got home I had my real lunch, leftover Greens & Quinoa Pie (don’t worry you won’t be hearing about this again, I finished it off) and baby carrots with hummus.

I also had a surprise waiting on me when I got home. Oh how I love the UPS man! 🙂

I’ve been eye-ing this book for a while, but I haven’t bought it because its fairly expensive. I researched the prices and finally decided to go ahead and order it from Amazon. I get free 2-day shipping with them anyway. I figured it would be a good investment, after all I can use it to help me accomplish my 101 in 1001 goal of trying 50 new recipes.

Today was a scheduled rest or crosstrain today, but I decided to turn today into a brick workout day. A brick workout is basically where you do one type of workout immediately following another type. Today I ran 3.5 miles and then did a Spinning class. Brick workouts are common in training for multisport races such as triathlons.

After my workout I was HANGRY! I made tacos for dinner and ate waaay more than I should have. I had 2 big soft tacos and a couple handfuls of tortillas chips, plus 2 beers.

No thats not ground beef you see, it’s Boca Crumbles. I’ve been making tacos and chili with Boca Crumbles long before I became vegetarian because its so low in calories and fat compared to ground meat. Only 60 calories per serving, you can’t beat that 🙂

Do you find that you tend to over-eat after an intense workout?

Leave a comment

Filed under 101 in 1001, Brick Workout, Food, pictures, Spinning

Leave a Reply

