Accomplishing Goals

Its another beautiful day here in central Alabama! I woke up bright and early this morning and decided today’s run was going to happen outside. I like to mix it up sometimes by running on the treadmill, but today was not that day for that.

I ran 4.5 miles in 39:08. It was a quiet and peaceful morning out on the road. I actually zoned out for most of the run. You know how sometimes you drive somewhere and when you get there you don’t really remember parts of the drive? (Or does that not happen to anyone else? :P) Well, that was my run this morning. I listened to part of the most recent episode of Two Gomers Run a Marathon, but I don’t really even remember what it was about. Either way … it was a nice run.

One of  my goals for my 101 in 1001 is to try 50 new recipes. I was really craving waffles for some strange reason this morning, so I broke out my new How To Cook Everything Vegetarian book and found a recipe for Whole Wheat Waffles. This recipe definitely didn’t involve any shortcuts of any kind, it was all homemade goodness. Normally I probably wouldn’t have even counted waffles towards one of my fifty recipes because its such an everday dish, but if the recipe requires “beating egg whites to stiff peaks” … I think I’m gonna have to count it. 🙂

Although the waffles were a bit labor intensive, the results were amazing.

After breakfast, Lincoln and I headed out to run some errands since I have to go back to work tomorrow 😦

I remembered my goal of using cloth shopping bags while I was at Walmart, but I was upset because I didn’t have my bags with me. I figured … what the hell … I could probably use a few more, so I bought 2 and had the cashier bag my items in them. Yay!

I’m pretty sure that is the first time I have ever used those bags for their intended purpose. When I got home I realized I only had 1 other one, so it was probably a good thing I bought a couple more. I’d like to get about 10 of them to keep in my car for my weekly grocery shopping trips.

Lunch today was very mediocre. I re-heated a frozen black bean burger from a couple weeks ago with a side of veggie chips and a big kosher pickle.

The black bean burger didn’t re-heat well at all. It was dry and stiff. The veggie chips were the saving grace.

While I was shopping I picked up some supplies to set-up my filing system for paperwork that I’ve been needing to do. (Another one of my 101 in 1001 goals). I’ve needed a way to organize things such as paycheck stubs, product warranties and registrations, restaurant menus, and tax deductible item receipts. I can’t believe I haven’t done this already, it only took me a total of about 10 minutes to get it all set up including making labels for the file folders. Doh!

Now I’m snacking on a Green Monster and enjoying some quiet time while the baby boy naps. I’ll spare you the picture of the GM, but I will say it is the tastiest one I’ve had in a while. It contains:

  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • fresh pineapple
  • spinach
  • agave nectar
  • water

Its been a really productive day so far. I may be MIA for a few days since tomorrow night I’m headed back to work for the weekend, but I do have a couple of exciting things coming up: Lincoln’s 2nd birthday, a 5K on April 3rd and a 10K on April 10th.

Leave a comment

Filed under 101 in 1001, Food, pictures, Running

Leave a Reply

