First Trail Run

Today was suppose to be my long run day, I had 9 miles on the schedule. Tim and I decided it would be fun to change things up a bit today and try a trail run.  Since doing a trail run was one of the items on my 101 in 1001 list, I was game.

I don’t really know the “rules” of trail running, but it seemed logical that Tim and I should probably stay together and that it would probably be best if we didn’t run with iPods.

We headed out to Swayback Bridge Trail, the place where we normally go mountain biking. We planned on running the 7 mile trail.

We started off strong, but around mile two Tim really started lagging behind. I had to keep stopping to let him catch up. He said he didn’t think he’d be able to make it the full 7 miles because his heels were hurting so bad. (He has plantar fascitis). We then decided to change the plan and do the 4 mile loop instead of the 7 miler.

I was really worried that I would be so bored running without music or a podcast to listen to, but I really enjoyed it. I think I had to pay so much attention to my footing that I never had the chance to get bored.

Our 4 mile trail times were abysmal:

Mile 1 – 11:39
Mile 2 – 12:53
Mile 3 – 13:46
Mile 4 – 13:16

Even though our trail times were MUCH slower than my normal pace, I really enjoyed myself. I don’t think I’ll plan a trail run for a long run day, but I’ll definitely do in place of one of my shorter run days. It was really nice to be able to run with Tim and talk.

After the 4 miles, I ran on the road for a couple of miles to make up for some of my lost mileage. I did 2 quick, very hilly miles:

Mile 5 – 8:14
Mile 6 – 8:32

I had way too much mexican food, and not nearly enough Margaritas afterwards. I always forget that alcohol isn’t sold in my rinky dink town on Sundays. Boo on that!

Leave a comment

Filed under Trail Run

Leave a Reply

