Oasis 5K

I stupidly signed up to run a race today, which was also Lincoln’s 2nd birthday party at my house. Not a good idea to try to do both in one day. I had no clue how much time and effort goes into planning a child’s birthday party. Anyway …

The weather was absolutely perfect for the race this morning. The course was nice, and except for one major hill at mile 2 it was a pretty easy course. I pretty much knew I wouldn’t PR today since my current PR for a 5K is 22:45, which I consider quite speedy. I came darn close though! I’m not sure what my official time is yet, but I think its going to be about 22:50. Of course I forgot to stop my Garmin as usual.

These are my unofficial stats from my Garmin:

Distance – 3.15 miles

Mile 1 – 7:28
Mile 2 – 7:15
Mile 3 – 7:10

We seriously considered leaving before the awards ceremony, but in the end we decided to stay. I won 2nd Overall Female! The first place girl and I ran together the entire race, then she passed me on the killer hill and I never could quite catch up with her again. I was on her heels the whole time though. I’m pretty sure I was only 1 or 2 seconds behind her. She came up to me after the race and told me that I kept her “on her toes”.

Why do I always smile like I’m in pain?

I’m absolutely exhausted now after all the weekend’s festivities. I’m scheduled to do a 10-miler tomorrow, but I’m not sure if that is going to happen or not. I hate to miss my long run two weeks in a row, but I’m just gonna have to wait and see what happens. There is a possibility of a trail run tomorrow. Happy Easter!

Update: Official time was 22:53 (1 second behind 1st place girl).

1 Comment

Filed under 5K, pictures, Races

One response to “Oasis 5K

  1. Congratulations on placing 2nd! You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

