Double Day

After all of the festivities yesterday I was left feeling very tired and achy. I had serious doubts that my scheduled 10-miler was going to happen. I hate missing my long runs, it throws off my whole week.

I slept really well last night and I was able to sleep about an hour longer this morning than I normally do. I definitely needed the rest! When I woke up I actually felt like going for a run. My legs weren’t achy like they were yesterday and I felt regenerated.

Before my run I ate half a Otis Spunkmeyer blueberry muffin. I never noticed before that 1 muffin is 2 servings. Doh!

DSC_0448

After breakfast, I headed out to the track at my old college (wish it had been there when I went). Its a great 2 mile track and I was happy to see that they finished paving it. Last time I went it was still about half gravel.

I did two laps (4 miles) and I knew I couldn’t go any farther until I had a bathroom break. Unfortunately there are no public restrooms near the track, so I had to get in my car and drive to a gas station. It would have been easy for me to just call it a day at that point because it was so hot outside. I knew if I did though I would feel bad about it all day. I drove back over and did another 4 miles. By that time it was almost noon and the sun was just too hot to continue, but I was satisfied.

I did 8 miles in 1:09.

We were invited to Easter lunch with some of my family at 2:00 this afternoon, but after my run I needed fuel, and it just couldn’t wait.

My first lunch of the day was falafel topped with tzatziki, tomato, spinach and avocado (added last minute, post pic). I also had some baby carrots and strawberries.

DSC_0450

For my 2nd lunch I had a small salad, baked beans, green bean casserole and a couple deviled eggs. I was glad that no one seemed to notice that I didn’t go for the ham. I really wasn’t up for the vegetarian conversation today. For dessert I had a tiny slice of each of the 3 options: blueberry pie, pink lemonade pie and chocolate cake. Mmmmm! 🙂

Once everyone’s tummies settled, my cousin (by marriage), her sister and I decided to go for a short trail run. I’m loving this trail running thing, I can’t believe I never tried it before! We did 3 miles at Swayback Bridge Trail.

1149138568_c0e928a879

1149143102_43bc96f59e

We did our 3 miles in 33:13.

I think its pretty typical for a trail running pace to be slower than a normal road pace. You have to pay so much extra attention to your footing that it makes the run a little slower. Its fun though, its almost like a game to dodge the roots and stumps.

After burning almost 1300 calories today I was HANGRY. I made myself a huge bowl of vegetarian chili, and relaxed with a beer (or maybe two).

DSC_0472

I also had a double helping of leftover birthday cake.

DSC_0420

Double runs, double meals, and double dessert. Perfection 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Double Day

  1. sounds like the perfect day to me!

Leave a Reply

