Centerpoint Challenge 10K

This morning’s Centerpoint Challenge was my second 10K race. Unfortunately, I had to run the race without hubby. It felt awkward being there without him, but I was looking forward to the run. I didn’t really have a goal in mind for this race. I just wanted to do my best and have fun.

I did manage to snag 1st place in the 25-29 age group in the process though.

DSC_0436

The weather was absolutely perfect this morning. At the start of the race it was sunny and about 50 degrees. Beautiful morning for a run!

2010-04-10 08.56.30

The race got going at 8:00, and as soon as the gun went off I started my iPod and my Garmin. Somehow my iPod got off the playlist I had queued up and it starting playing some really slow music. I ended up having to take my iPod off my arm and find my playlist again, all while still trying to run.

Once I got the music situation all straightened out everything was great. The course had a couple of really big hills in the first 3 miles, and one of them we had to do twice because the course looped back. The last half of the course was much flatter though.

I saw the girl that I ran with the whole race at the Oasis 5K last week, that ended up beating me and asked her jokingly if she was ready to run with me again today. I spotted her ahead of me at about the 2nd mile but I was a good 100 yards behind her. At some point I ended up passing her on the hills. But there was one more girl ahead and she was booking it!

About mile 3.5 I came up on the second girl and I ran alongside her for a while before I ended up getting ahead of her also.

Then at mile 4 everything started going downhill. I ran through a water station and picked up some Gatorade. Shortly after I got an intense fullness in my stomach all of a sudden, and my diaphragm started feeling like it was spasming. I’ve had side stitches and stomach cramps before while running, but I’ve never felt anything like this. I kept thinking to myself, “I’m about to have to stop and walk. I’m not going to make it!”.

I really didn’t want to stop since – A. I’ve never walked during a race before and B. I was in the lead for the women at the time. I ended up having to drop my pace waaay down, I was sure the 2 girls were going to blow past me when I slowed but they never did.

Thankfully the pain started to ease off at about mile 5. I was able to pick my pace back up a little bit and then out of nowhere THREE women zoomed past me at the exact same time! The two women I mentioned earlier and one other. Uh oh!

I was able to get passed the last woman, but I never caught up with the other two. We came around the last corner of the race and I realized the time clock was alot closer than I thought it should have been. Apparently the race was a little short, this is what I got from my Garmin (which I actually remembered to stop right at the finish line!) ….

DSC_0440

According to my calculations my friend Eric’s calculations if the course had been 6.2 miles like it should have been my time would have been 47:30 based on my pace. Which would have been a PR, beating my previous 10K time of 48:20. So does it count?! Hmmm.

My splits were: 7:26, 7:39, 7:33, 7:41, 8:00, 7:48. Can you tell I was hurting the last few miles?

After the race I headed home to find some grub and ended up with a Sweet Potato Burrito that was almost bigger than my plate!

DSC_0442

Lincoln and I took a scrumptious nap together and now I’m thinking about more food. Have a great night!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Personal Record, pictures, Races

2 responses to “Centerpoint Challenge 10K

  1. Well done on your race. Sounds like a great day.

  2. Pingback: Centerpoint Challenge Half Marathon | Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

