Mega Veggies!

I finished up my work week yesterday morning at 8:30, now I’m off for 8 glorious days! I headed home for a short nap before going to the airport to pick up Hubby. He was flying home from a business trip in Portland, Oregon.

I didn’t have time before going to the airport to get in my scheduled 4-miler so I decided to try to fit in 3 very fast miles on the treadmill.

I did 3 miles in 24:07, a 8:02 per mile pace.  Pretty speedy!

I could have easily talked myself into skipping the workout, but I always feel better about myself when I just do it.

Hubby and I were both starving so we headed to Mellow Mushroom for an early dinner. Mellow Mushroom is a vegetarian Mecca! There are so many options.

I had a 10-inch Mega Veggie pizza.

2010-04-14 18.09.26

I ate 3/4 of it as well as a Lil Greek Salad.

Tim tried the Tempeh Sub.

DSCF6536

It was pretty good, but we both agreed that there are better things on the menu and we probably wouldn’t order it again.

After dinner we went shopping, I needed some new running clothes. I don’t shop very often for myself, but when I do I can really go all out. I spent waaay more money than I should have. I got 3 new Under Armour tops (1 short sleeved, and 2 sleeveless), a new Under Armour sports bra, a pair of compression shorts and 2 pairs of track shorts. Yay for new clothes!

I’ve been really dying in the heat lately, especially when I run in t-shirts. The sleeves drive me crazy! I normally would never go sleeveless because I am very self-conscious about my arms, but I just don’t care anymore when it comes to this insane heat.

I beat the heat this morning by getting my run done early, I usually opt for afternoon workouts. I got up at 6:20 and was on the road by 7:00. I went to my favorite running spot at Fort Toulouse. Its so flat and a “out and back” is almost exactly 5 miles.

104_0096

I completed 5.02 miles in 42:42.

My splits: 8:40, 8:29, 8:45, 8:25, and 8:13. I must have been ready to be finished!

104_0103

I posed for a picture with my Half Marathon decal to remind myself of how far I’ve come.

My post-run breakfast was something completely new to me … a Green Egg Omelet.

DSC_0450

My omelet contained:

  • 2 eggs and 2 egg whites
  • fresh spinach
  • mushrooms
  • onion
  • broccoli
  • cheddar cheese
  • and ketchup for dipping!

I blended the eggs, whites and spinach in my Blendtec for a few seconds and then constructed the omelet as usual, piling on the mushrooms, onions, and broccoli. I added a 1/4 cup of cheese at the end for flavor.

I have to say it looked quite strange and unappealing, but it was very tasty!

Do you like your eggs with ketchup? Its something I’ve always done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

