Potato Perfection

I’d like to announce that I have mastered the baked potato! And I’m going to share my fabulous secrets with you. Hubby and I have been eating baked potatoes alot lately since I discovered I could buy an enormous bag of them at Costco for a little over $6.

I’ve tried this method of baking the potatoes with every size and no matter how big or how small 1 hour and 10 minutes seems to work perfectly.

Tonight I cooked two very different sized potatoes together. I call them … Mommy potato and Daddy potato.

DSC_0452

Here are the steps to the perfect baked potato.

  1. Wash potato, poke holes with a fork all the way around.
  2. Coat with olive oil. (I like to put them in a Ziploc bag with a little olive oil and coat them, no messy hands!)
  3. Sprinkle Kosher or Sea Salt all over outside of potato. I like alot of salt, most of it falls off anyway.
  4. Bake in preheated over (straight on rack) at 450 degrees for 1 hour 10 minutes.

Now for the toppings …

I like a conglomeration of multiple toppings on my potato. The more the merrier!

This may sound like a super strange combination, but bear with me. Its out of this world.

  1. Hummus (I use Sabra brand Roasted Pine Nut usually)
  2. Tzatziki (Greek Dill Cucumber yogurt, I buy mine at Costco)
  3. Sauteed Veggies (Broccoli, Onion and Mushrooms)
  4. Artichoke Hearts (the kind packed in delicious oil, again .. I buy mine at Costco)
  5. Feta Cheese

The toppings need to go on in that exact order … (well, probably not really but thats how I think it works best).

Presenting Mommy potato …

DSC_0457

And now lets hear it for Daddy potato …

DSC_0458

I like my potato completely cut open while Tim likes his stuffed. Either way … absolute perfection.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes

3 responses to “Potato Perfection

  1. I can never bake my potatoes for the right amount of time. Thanks for the tips!

  2. Pingback: Sweet Potato Perfection « Eat to Live, Live to Run

  3. Pingback: Finally Using My Garmin « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

