Walk of Life 5K

This morning I participated in the Joy to Life Foundation’s – Walk of Life 5K. The Joy to Life Foundation provides free mammograms to medically underserved women of Alabama. Its a great cause!

I was really excited to learn about the Walk of Life and I helped create a team with some of the women in Labor & Delivery, where I work.

104_0109

From left to right: Amy, Ashley, Nicole, Me, Meagan and Leigh Ann. (Not pictured: Rivers, Melissa, April, Cheryl, Bonnie)

The walk was scheduled to start at 8:30 am. I had everyone’s t-shirts and race bibs so I planned on arriving about 30 minutes early to pass them out. When I arrived I realized the event was packed! Luckily I was able to find a parking spot relatively easily and met up with everyone.

104_0106 
The largest pink ribbon in Alabama!

Nicole and I went for a quick bathroom break before the race started. I heard the announcements being made for everyone to start lining up. I  checked my watch and it was only 8:15. One of the volunteers for the event was in the line for the bathroom and assured me the race wouldn’t start until 8:30. When I came out of the restroom I saw everyone running past!

I didn’t get started until almost 7 minutes after everyone else. I’m still not sure why the race started so much earlier than the scheduled time. I decided since it was already going that I would just run this one as a “fun run” instead of a race. I paired up with a friend from work and we stuck together the whole time. We walked/ran the course in 33:35 (according to my Garmin, 40:08 according to the official time).

So much pink!

104_0110

I’m still peaved about the early start, but I did have a really good time having a more relaxing run with my friends.

104_0112

Its so hard to not squint!

Overall I’m glad I did the race and helped raise money for the Joy to Life Foundation, but I’ll definitely mark this one down on my calendar for next year as a “fun run”.

After the Walk of Life, I still wanted to get a good run in so I headed out to my favorite running spot and banged out a quick 5 miles.

I did 5 miles in 42:18 for an average pace of 8:28.

Lunch was a big bowl of Tofu Veggie Stirfry, I was HANGRY!

DSC_0489

On the topic of eating … I decided to rejoin Weight Watchers Online today. Not because I’ve really gained much weight back (less than 5 pounds), but because lately I’ve really felt that my eating was not controlled. My portion sizes have been ridiculously large and I’ve been eating far too often. If I was truly hungry that would be one thing, but I’ve been finding myself eating just to have something to do recently. Although my weight is healthy I know that my eating disorder (Compulsive Overeating) is as active as ever.

I felt much more in control while I was doing Weight Watchers. After all, loss of control is why I ended up at 260 pounds in the first place. For now I’m going to strive to lose about 7 pounds and then I’m going to begin the maintenance program. So here goes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Charity, Friends, pictures, Races, Weight Watchers

Leave a Reply

