Boston Marathon Monday

Unless you live under a rock, or just aren’t interested in running at all (then why would you be reading my blog?) you probably  know that today was the Boston Marathon. I’ve been looking forward to this day for a couple of months now and actually had it marked on my Google calendar. I was disappointed to find out on Friday that I don’t have the TV channel that the marathon was being broadcast on. However, I was able to watch the coverage online for the small fee of $4.99. I wasn’t in love with the idea of paying to watch it, but I’ve looked forward to it for far too long to not pay 5 bucks.

Thankfully the toddler slept late this morning, so I was able to get my run out of the way before he woke up. I wasn’t intending on a treadmill run today, but Hubby had to work super early so that was my only option.

I completed 5 miles in 41:45.

After my run I had a quick shower, got Lincoln dressed to go to grandma’s so I could have a quiet morning to myself to watch the race and I made myself a yummy post-run breakfast.

DSC_0481

Yogurt with strawberries and Kashi Go Lean Crunch is quickly becoming one of my favorites. I was on a Greek yogurt kick for a while, but I actually think I like this Yoplait Light & Fit Vanilla even better.

While eating my breakfast, I settled down at the computer to watch the Boston Marathon. I won’t go through a play-by-play, but it was a very inspirational and at some points tense race. I can’t wait until I can call myself a marathoner!

Some interesting facts about the Boston Marathon:

  • The Boston Marathon is the world’s oldest annual marathon and ranks as one of the world’s best-known road racing events.
  • It is always held on Patriot’s Day, the 3rd Monday in April.
  • Women were not allowed to enter the Boston Marathon officially until 1972. (In 1967, Katherine Switzer ran the race but did not indicate that she was a female on her registration, she ran under the name K.V. Switzer and was almost ejected from the race).
  • The Boston marathon is open to all runners, male and female, from any nation, but they must meet certain qualifying standards. In order to qualify a runner must finish a prior marathon (within 18 months) with a certain period of time. The standards are as follows:
Age Group Men Women
18-34 3:10 3:40
35-39 3:15 3:45
40-44 3:20 3:50
45-49 3:30 4:00
50-54 3:35 4:05
55-59 3:45 4:15
60-64 4:00 4:30
65-69 4:15 4:45
70-74 4:30 5:00
75-79 4:45 5:15
80 and over 5:00 5:30

 

Who knows … maybe one day I’ll be good enough to qualify to run Boston. Anything is possible!

Back to reality ….

I had alot of leftover spinach that was getting past its prime that I needed to use up for lunch today.

DSC_0484

I decided to go ahead and cook all the spinach, chop it and freeze what I didn’t use. Why have I never thought of this before?!

I made spinach and mushroom quesadillas for lunch.

Hubby has notified me that I don’t talk about him nearly enough on my blog, so he took some pictures of his lunch for me to share. (Actually, he kept fiddling with his plate rearranging his food and when I asked him what he was doing he said “I want mine to look good so you’ll post a picture of it on your blog).

DSC_0486 

I have to give him credit though, the avocado shell/salsa bowl was a great idea. I copied it for my portion.

DSC_0491

I used LaTortilla Factory brand, Smart & Delicious Whole Wheat Tortillas for mine. They have only 80 calories per tortilla, compared to the 220 calories per tortilla the Mi Casa brand tortillas have that I used for Hubby’s portion.

I really feel like re-joining Weight Watchers is helping tremendously so far in making me aware of what I put into my body. Although I’m not trying to lose much weight, I really want to focus on portion control and nutrition balance.

Have you ever run a Marathon? Which ones? Ever dream of running Boston?

All facts about the Boston Marathon came from here.

3 Comments

Filed under Boston Marathon, Food, Motivation, pictures

3 responses to “Boston Marathon Monday

  1. Your meals look good and healthy! I dream of running Boston! One day!

  2. Kym

    Your meals actually LOOK this good? I like the time you take to prepare your meals. Your lunch looks delicious!

  3. Crystal

    that’s a really cute idea with the avocado! I’m totally going to use that. 😉

Leave a Reply

