Hatin’ Those Hills

I love being able to walk out my front door and go for a run on the mornings when I’m short on time or I don’t feel like driving somewhere to run. What I don’t like so much are these hills in my neighborhood. I’m not sure whether its a blessing or a curse, but the major hills are right at the beginning and end of my run. This one at 0.2 miles is the lesser of the two evils …

DSC_0437

The picture doesn’t really do it justice. Its the slow steady incline that gets me!

The hill on the way back at mile 4.9 of my 5 mile run is definitely the killer. The picture most certainly doesn’t do this one justice.

DSC_0442

You can actually tell more about the last one looking down from the top of the hill.

DSC_0444

When Tim and I first moved to this house we would occasionally (very occasionally) take walks to the end of the road and back (0.6 miles) and on the way back I could never make it up this hill walking. At 260 pounds that hill was almost impossible for me to even walk up, I’d have to stop midway and catch my breath and more often than not I made Tim hold my hand and literally pull me up the hill.

Although I still don’t love the hills, I do look back and feel such an overwhelming sense of accomplishment knowing I can run those hills with very little trouble whereas I once couldn’t even walk them.

I ran 5.04 miles in 42:00 this morning. Splits were: 8:33, 8:18, 8:12, 8:12, 8:23.

After my hilly run I decided it was definitely an oatmeal morning.

DSC_0446

My oatmeal contained:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 over-ripe banana
  • 1 Tbsp peanut butter
  • Drizzle of Agave Nectar

Perfect post-run breakfast!

1 Comment

Filed under pictures, Running

One response to “Hatin’ Those Hills

  1. Pingback: Stuffed Jumbo Shells « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

