Stuffed Jumbo Shells

Today was a double workout day, first my hilly run this morning then a 45 minute spin class this evening. I was obsessed with Spinning when I first discovered it and I went to atleast 3 classes a week for a while. Sometimes I even went to back to back classes in one day. For me Spinning got repetitive and boring after a while. Every now and then I like to shake things up and go to a class though.

Since I knew I’d be home late, I started working on dinner early this afternoon before Spin class. I had some pasta shells that I’ve been needing to use up for a while, so I decided to make a veggie stuffed jumbo shell creation of my own.

I started with some chopped spinach, ricotta cheese, squash, garlic and mushrooms.

I sautéed the diced squash, mushrooms and garlic in a little olive oil and added some herbs for flavor.

DSC_0455

DSC_0458

I mixed the veggies with a 15 oz container of ricotta cheese and the chopped spinach.

DSC_0461 DSC_0462

I stuffed 15 cooked (per package instructions) Jumbo Shells with the mixture, covered them with some spaghetti sauce and baked them in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

DSC_0464

The last 5 minutes I added mozzarella cheese and baked until the cheese was melted. I served the shells with my sautéed green beans and onions and a small side salad.

DSC_0476 

DSC_0477

DSC_0478

Pretty fantastic if I say so myself. I may submit this recipe to All Recipes as one of my three recipes from my 101 in 1001 list.

Sweet baby Lincoln fell asleep at the table. Almost too much cuteness for one picture:

DSC_0480

Have a great night!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes

2 responses to “Stuffed Jumbo Shells

  1. That looks fantastic. I will definitely be trying this. As well as your quesilades (sp) from the other day.
    Lincoln is so cute asleep in his chair as well.
    Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: It Doesn’t Take Much « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

