Mommy & Son Day

I woke up super early (for me) this morning and went for an invigorating run at Ft. Toulouse. I felt extra speedy today!

I completed 5 miles in 40:27. My splits looked like this:

Mile 1 – 8:12
Mile 2 – 8:00
Mile 3 – 8:01
Mile 4 – 8:03
Mile 5 – 8:05

By the fifth mile I was worn out! I felt strong today though, and I know I could have gone farther if I had slowed down some. I think I’m in desperate need for a good long run, its been several weeks since I’ve had a legitimate long run.

I needed protein for breakfast so I decided to throw a few things together and make a Green Egg Stirfry Omelet.

DSC_0485

I mixed 2 eggs with a big handful of fresh spinach in my blender for the omelet. I stuffed it with leftover tofu stirfry that I’ve been needing to get rid of. Sooo good! I think this is my most favorite breakfast that I’ve had in a long time. You must try it sometime. I buy the huge bags of frozen vegetable stirfry mix at Costco. Its amazing!

I desperately needed to get out of the house today before I head back to work tomorrow night. I decided today would be Mommy & Son Day. In my 101 in 1001 list I said that I would do something extra special with Lincoln once a month by myself, so I thought today would be the perfect chance.

We headed to the Museum of Fine Art to play at the children’s exhibit.

DSC_0490

DSC_0493

I can’t believe I never knew this place was here. It was great! The children’s exhibit was called Artworks.

DSC_0494

Lincoln had a great time making art.

DSC_0498

He built towers with foam blocks.

DSC_0504

And tried on masks.

DSC_0509 DSC_0511

I attempted to make some art of my own while we were there.

DSC_0546

DSC_0533

DSC_0547

Lincolns favorite part by far was playing with the racecars on the Talledega painting.

DSC_0527 DSC_0522

DSC_0526

I thought this would be a perfect place to leave an Operation Beautiful note, but I left my Post-Its at home. So I improvised …

DSC_0551

DSC_0554

Lunch was a huge salad bar from Jason’s Deli.

DSC_0555

After lunch we headed to Lincoln’s most favorite place on earth Books-a-Million to play with the choo-choo train. I swear that boy can spot a Books-a-Million from a mile away!

DSC_0560

DSC_0561

We are finally back home and I’m exhausted! The rest of the day is going to be low key for sure. Hope you are having a great day!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Mommy & Son Day

  1. Sam use to LOVE that train table at the book store. She also liked the one over at Storkland (is that the name?), anyway, it was very VERY hard to shop with those around, LOL!

  2. What a great Mommy & Son Day. Looks like you both had a ball. 🙂

Leave a Reply

