Jubilee CityFest 8K … That Wasn’t.

As a continuation of date night last night, Tim and I decided we’d take advantage of the opportunity to run together this morning since Little Man was at his grandma’s.

Our homemade pizza turned out really awesome by the way.

DSC_1349

We ended up using: pesto, a combination of brie and goat cheese, calamata olives, sundried tomatoes, and mushrooms. It was perfect!

We drank the better part of 2 bottle of wine and watched Julie and Julia on Netflix. We’ve both seen it before, but I love that movie. The book, however, sucks.

For dessert we had Chocolate Explosion cake and Frangelico.

osf-202-sliced-mint

We actually got to bed fairly early and I was able to sleep a decent 8 hours!

Our local running club (R3) is hosting the Jubilee Cityfest 8K next Saturday morning and I won’t be able to do the race. Unfortunately I’ll be on my way home from a 12 hour shift at the hospital about the time the race is getting underway.

For the past several weeks R3 has been doing organized Jubilee Practice Runs at 7:30 on Sunday morning. Tim has gone a couple of times, but today was the first time I’ve gotten to go.

The course started at Old Alabama Town.

334852049NcricO_ph

And headed up towards the Capitol Building …

31662_1460051304874_1341175325_1260963_6903507_n

31662_1460050784861_1341175325_1260962_6373100_n

Down Madison Avenue …

ShowImage

And through a neighborhood, before heading back up by Oakwood Cemetery to the start finish line.

Hank Williams is buried in Oakwood Cemetery.

Oakwood_Cemetery

Overall it was a good run. I was glad to get to spend the time with R3. It was muggy out and started sprinkling at the end of the run. I originally intended on running the route twice, but with the rain coming in and the hills at the beginning of the course I decided not to.

I ran 5.03 miles in 42:34.

When I got home I decided to finish up my scheduled 9 miles for the day on the treadmill.

DSC_1356

I did 4 miles in 34:09. For a total of 9.03 miles today 🙂

Now its time to eat! I’m snacking on some trailmix while I write this.

DSC_1361

But I think an early lunch is going to be necessary.

2 Comments

Filed under 8K, Long Runs, pictures, Running

2 responses to “Jubilee CityFest 8K … That Wasn’t.

  1. Kym Klass

    great job today … glad you were able to join the group!

  2. Abi

    Look at those legs! (wolf whistle)

Leave a Reply

