Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Lincoln randomly started begging for cookies this afternoon so I decided to appease him. If you know me, you probably know that I struggle with getting  my son to eat anything. If the boy wants cookies, he gets cookies.

I found a basic recipe for Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies on Allrecipes, and added my own embellishments and substitutions, as usual. I tried to make them super healthy and still tasty.

The ingredient list:

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup reduced fat peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce 2 bananas
  • 1/4 cup honey  agave nectar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup nonfat dry milk powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • Note my substitutions. I also added milled flax seed and a bit of cinnamon.

    DSC_1363

    It wasn’t absolutely necessary but it seemed like the perfect opportunity to use my Kitchenaid Mixer, that I so rarely get to use.

    Directions
    1. In a mixing bowl, beat egg whites and brown sugar. Beat in peanut butter, applesauce bananas, honey agave, flax seed and vanilla. DSC_1368
      DSC_1369
    2. Combine the oats, flour, milk powder and baking soda; gradually add to peanut butter mixture, beating until combined. DSC_1371
      DSC_1375
    3. Drop by tablespoonfuls 2 in. apart onto baking sheets coated with nonstick cooking spray. Bake at 350 degrees F for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown. Remove to wire racks to cool.

    DSC_1376 DSC_1382

    The recipe ended up making over 30 cookies! I couldn’t even fit them all in my container.

    DSC_1397

    They turned out really light and fluffy and delicious! Of course by the time I finished baking them and they had a chance to cool, Lincoln no longer wanted anything to do with cookies and wouldn’t even touch one. Doh!

    Please take a look at my recipes page, I updated it today to include some things I had previously forgotten to add.

    5 Comments

    Filed under pictures, Recipes

    5 responses to “Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

    1. Allison

      So what is your take on Agave? I actually wanted to try it out because I have read about using it instead of sugar in recipes. Then I read an article that said it was just as bad for you as high fructose corn syrup? I’ve been sticking with honey and raw sugar. Let me see if I can find that article for you.

    2. Allison

      http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/03/30/beware-of-the-agave-nectar-health-food.aspx

      This is the article i read. It makes it seem like organic is ok as long as it is processed right?????

      • Interesting article. I’m not sure what I think of it. I guess if you ate alot of sweeteners it could really make a difference. I probably only use agave, sugar, syrups, etc. about once a month or less. It probably doesn’t make a difference which one I choose with as little as I use them. I could see how this would be an issue if you used sweeteners everyday though. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    3. I’m going to try these tonight because I want a healthy-ish cookie to take camping over Memorial Day Weekend. I’m going to make some slight changes based on the ingredients I have around the house. So, what do you think the powdered milk was for in the original recipe? Weird.

    Leave a Reply

    