Rails-to-Trails

This morning when I checked my mail I got a letter from an organization I had never heard of before, but instead of throwing it away something actually caught my eye and made me take a look. The letter was from Rails-to-Trails.

DSC_1488

What an amazing idea to turn old unused rail lines into walking/bicycle trails! I immediately went to their website to get some more information.

The mission of Rails-to-Trails as stated on their website is:

to create a nationwide network of trails from former rail lines and connecting corridors to build healthier places for healthier people.

One of the really cool features on the website is the ability to search for trails in your area. I found several trails in Alabama that I never knew existed.

untitled

I encourage you to take a look at the website. Find out about trails in your area, and donate to this worthy cause if possible.

3 Comments

Filed under Charity

3 responses to “Rails-to-Trails

  1. I have run on the Chief Ladiga Trail near Anniston, they have a Half-Marathon every year, December I think. This trail connects to the Silver Comet trail and runs all the way to the west side of Atlanta.

    I have also run on the Richard Martin Trail which runs from Athens, Alabama to the Tennesee state line, 11 miles. I have family in Athens.

    Both of these are Rails-to-Trails projects and great places to run or ride. Because they are old railroad beds, the inclines are never too steep, but can be quite long.

    Columbus Georgia has also a trail, along the Chattahoochee, but I haven’t run that one. Yet.

Leave a Reply

