Egg-sellent

Good morning! This morning I was needing something seriously comforting for breakfast. So I decided on a true southern classic … grits. I love mixing a scrambled egg and a little cheese into my grits, it makes it so much more filling.

Obviously I am no vegan, but one of the things that I have committed myself to is eating more consciously. One of the ways that I plan on doing that is by eating eggs from the chickens my dad raises instead of buying eggs at the grocery store from chickens who live in cramped cages. He has about 20 chickens that live on his property and have ample room to move around and live their lives. Everyday my family collects about 12 eggs.

My mom brought me a huge basket of eggs recently. These are definitely not your grocery store variety. They are still covered in dirt and feathers.

DSC_1505

I scrambled an egg and added it to my grits with a bit of shredded cheese.

DSC_1501

DSC_1502

It was egg-sellent!

I had the best intentions of going on an early morning run today, but when my alarm went off at 6:00 I decided to listen to my body and get some more rest. I don’t sleep well (or long enough) on my 12 hour work nights so I’ll take some quality sleep whenever I can get it. There’s always tomorrow.

Now I’m off to run some boring errands. I’m secretly hoping my Running Skirt comes in the mail today. Have a great day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, pictures

Leave a Reply

