Italian Veggie Stuffed Bell Peppers

Tonight’s dinner was a new personal creation. I’ve been craving Stuffed Bell Peppers, but my old recipe involved ground beef and pancetta. I searched for a vegetarian stuffed pepper recipe, but didn’t find anything I was excited about so I decided to create my own.

 DSC_1561

My pepper was loaded with veggies. It included a mixture of:

  • Mushroom Wild Rice
  • Yellow Onion
  • Minced Garlic
  • Minced Carrots
  • Chopped Spinach
  • Spaghetti Sauce
  • Red Wine
  • Italian Spices

I cooked the Wild Rice (Uncle Ben’s Mushroom Wild Rice) and combined it with the sautéed veggies, about 3/4 cup spaghetti sauce, and 1/2 a cup of red wine. I let it all simmer together until the wine reduced. I spiced it up by adding crushed red pepper, salt, black pepper, oregano and thyme to the mix.

DSC_1537 
Meanwhile I parboiled my bell peppers. Parboil is just a fancy word that means to partially cook. I boil the peppers in a large pot of water for about 3 minutes to just slightly soften them, and then I finish them off in the oven once they are stuffed.

Here is the step that made the whole recipe:

I layered the veggie-rice mixture inside the peppers with Ricotta cheese. One layer veggies, one layer ricotta, repeat.

DSC_1541
DSC_1542 
DSC_1544

I then baked the peppers in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes, topped with shredded cheese and baked another 5 minutes. Absolute perfection!

I had about 1/2 a pepper and a big garden salad with Green Goddess dressing and Salt & Pepper croutons.

DSC_1556 
Green Goddess dressing might be one of my favorite things on earth.

DSC_1549
It tastes like Ranch on steriods! Unfortunately its not the most calorie friendly dressing choice, but hey … life is worth living.

I’ve got a upcoming race announcement and a Running Skirt review to share, but I’ll save that for tomorrow.

Have a great night!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes

4 responses to “Italian Veggie Stuffed Bell Peppers

  1. Now that’s a meal I will totally steal, looks so yummy!!!!

  2. Pingback: Farmer’s Market Dinner « Eat to Live, Live to Run

  3. While searching out recipes for vegetarian stuffed peppers, I fortunately stumbled onto your website. Not only do I like the sound of this recipe, but I will also be checking in again for more! Rock on 🙂

  4. Eileen Shaughnessy

    I made these last night and the family loved them! I did substitute Lindsay Nixon’s (Happy Herbivore) tofu ricotta for the regular. It was delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

