Running Skirt Verdict

Several weeks ago I wrote this post about not understanding the point of Running Skirts. I didn’t actually intend for the post to be taken negatively, I meant it in earnest. Is there more to the skirt than fashion? Was there some sort of function of a skirt that I was unaware of as a newer runner? Whatever my intention in writing the blog, it got noticed … alot. Some people answered the questions I asked as I meant them. Other people told me basically, “don’t knock it until you try it”. People definitely had strong opinions and the mere suggestion that I didn’t understand the point seemed to really bother some people.

Cindy at RunningSkirts.com offered “to skirt” me so I could see what the craze was all about for myself. I was really excited to get my skirt in the mail and I was extra excited when I saw the other goodies they sent me!

dsc_1509_thumb 
The first skirt they sent me felt like it was too small. Actually it fit great everywhere except my stomach. I have some loose skin on my stomach from losing so much weight (gaining and losing … gaining and losing) and it looked really unflattering. There was no way I’d ever be able to wear it out in public, so I called them up, explained the problem and sent the skirt back for a larger size. I asked if I could possibly have a black skirt instead of the pink one to help camouflage my sad sad stomach. For whatever reason they sent me back another pink one, maybe they were out of black. Who knows?

Anyway, the same problem was an issue again, but since I had already sent it back once I decided just to give it a try and see what I thought of it and if I really loved it I could buy a black one later or maybe even one with compression shorts underneath that might look a little more flattering on me.

The first thing I noticed was that the material was very comfortable and felt great on my skin! The pockets in the sides of the skirt were roomy and a great functional idea.

As soon as I started running I realized there was a big problem though, the skirt was sliding off of me as I ran. I pulled it back up, and 2 seconds later it was almost falling off my ass! Obviously the bigger size was too big, even though it still looked too tight in the stomach. I was actually really sad about it, I wanted to love it!

I might give it another try in black and maybe with the compression shorts underneath (but then what’s the point of a skirt) to see if that hides some of the not-so-fab flab.

Overall I felt like the positives definitely outweighed the negatives, and the only negative in my situation was a very unique circumstance due to my weightloss.

If you are thinking about trying a running skirt from runningskirts.com I would encourage you to go for it! They seem to be very well made, comfortable and functional.

After I get my tummy tuck (in a few years) its gonna be on with the running skirts! 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Clothing, products

5 responses to “Running Skirt Verdict

  1. Do the pockets flare at all? I have wide hips and that’s why I’ve avoided those b/c I don’t want to look funny with the pockets sticking out the sides.
    Of course, I’m not sure if I’m ready to take the leap yet. I have a 1/2 marathon in October and I’m debating running it in a skirt, but I don’t know if that’s who I am yet 🙂

    • No, they didn’t flare at all. You really can’t tell by looking that there even are pockets. I think you would look super cute in a running skirt! 🙂

      • Aw! Thanks Amanda! I may give it a go. I like to reward myself on mileage, certain races, etc, so maybe it’ll be my reward for increasing my mileage soon 🙂

  2. Elisa

    I used to have the same problem with the skirt riding down as I ran. You need the smaller size. Even though it may seem too small just standing in front of the mirror, once you start running it will feel like you are running without anything on. Another solution is to thread a long shoe lace through the top of the waist band. That works like a charm. Stick with the skirt with the briefs; the skirts with the shorts are not as comfortable and the shorts can ride up. Good luck and happy running.

  3. Crystal

    The smaller size probably would have been ok on you. Another solution that one of my friends does is to put body glide on your stomach. It helps the waistband stick until you start sweating, which is when the skirt will start sticking to you. Try it out! Another thing, if the skirt is falling off, don’t put anything heavy in the pockets as you run (not sure if you did, but I found that a blackberry and car keys w/fob were too much). Light keys and GU or other fuel are perfect, though.

Leave a Reply

